11 Things I Already Know I Will Miss

Ali Cooperrider
6 min readOct 31, 2018

--

Someone said to me yesterday, “I can’t believe we only have 6 weeks until the program ends!” At first, I thought she was kidding and immediately checked my calendar to see if it was true. These last couple weeks have flown by, and they are continuing to disappear. It is strange to think that 7 weeks ago I moved to Spain and had no idea what I was going to experience in the coming months.

Rainy day exploring Sevilla

Within the next month, I will be traveling to Madrid, Toledo, Segovia, Barcelona, Granada, Málaga, and a few cities within Morocco. This means that I will be spending less time in Sevilla, and it is honestly heartbreaking. I wish I could be here for longer, but I am treasuring the small things that I love about Sevilla/Spain before I have to leave them for the US and then Chile.

Although I have been raving about my adventures here in every other blog post, I felt that I should dedicate a post to some of the aspects that I know I will miss as soon as I am on a plane to the US.

“You get a strange feeling when you’re about to leave a place, I told him, like you’ll not only miss the people you love but you’ll miss the person you are now at this time and this place, because you’ll never be this way ever again.” -Azar Nafisi

  1. Getting pastries during breaks at either cafés or the nearby supermarket

This is something that you might think, “well you can always find a café in the US or go to a pastry shop.” Trust me… it’s completely different. A fresh pastry along with a freshly squeezed orange juice is a perfect way to relax in between classes.

2. Coming across a free flamenco show in a hidden neighborhood

In Sevilla, a place famous for its flamenco, it is easy to find a show of the beautiful dance. What makes it even better is when you do not expect to find a flamenco show AND it’s free in a part of a neighborhood you would not suspect. Something about the spontaneity is thrilling.

3. The administration at Centronorteamericano

This is a point that I cannot repeat enough in my blogs. Everyday (at least twice), I enter the office with with either a question or something that I’m wanting to talk about, and I am welcomed with open arms. The lovely ladies always encourage me to find ways to talk about difficult topics in Spanish (such as trying to get a visa through the Chilean consulate in Madrid), even though it is sometimes difficult enough for me to explain what I mean in English. Soraya in particular has been an amazing mentor and friend, and I cannot thank her enough for everything she has done for me.

The amazing Soraya

4. Walking through the winding, narrow streets

I have to admit that I have become much better at navigating Sevilla, but I also have accepted that it is okay to get lost because I might come across a palace. The cobblestone streets look even better in person than they do in Pinterest photos. Finding street artists is also a plus.

Street Art

5. Listening to people play guitars, sing, and cheer on their favorite soccer team from the balcony in my room

Sunday’s are usually my lazy/recover-from-a-long-week days that involve hanging out in my room, doing homework, and of course listening to the hustle and bustle from the street below. Often times, I will wake up to some kind of choir or group of people singing or music from below and it has to be one of the best ways to wake up. At night, I can frequently hear people cheering on Betis or Sevilla Fútbol Club, which is also entertaining.

6. Hopping on a bus or flight or train to another city or country

Europe is so available and, for the most part, cheap to travel through from Spain. Even if traveling out of Spain is not an option for you, it is easy to travel in and out of Sevilla to other areas of the country. There are so many wonderful cities to visit in Spain alone, that it really is not necessary to leave.

My trip to Italy for the weekend and I was able to see Pompeii!

7. Tinto Tuesday or Thursday…because I can!

Tinto de verano is a drink made with red wine and a soft drink that typically has lemon flavoring. It is similar to sangria, but it is the drink that most locals tend to have other than cerveza. It is relaxing and comforting to find a tapas bar after a long day of classes and sit with friends to enjoy tapas and tintos.

8. Randomly finding a palace or cultural center or festival

Sevilla can be very unexpected for people from the US. In the US, generally, walking through neighborhoods you will not find a palace or a defense tower from the 13th century. This is something that I do not think I would ever be accustomed to, but I love it because it surprises me and keeps me on my toes.

Star Wars parade in the Plaza de España (we had no idea this was happening until we were there)

9. Meeting students and other people from all over the world (Argentinian girl, French people from bar, Spaniards)

Having met many people in the last couple months, I can say with confidence that Sevilla has quite the mixture of people from many countries whether they are studying abroad through Erasmus (or any other program) or a Spaniard attending one of the universities in Sevilla. I have met many students from France, Argentina, Italy, and the US to name a few. Each and every one has the same excitement to be living here.

10. Being able to speak Spanish with (almost) everyone I meet

At home in the US, it can be difficult to find people to practice my Spanish with. I will occasionally talk to my family in Spanish, but they most likely do not understand what I am saying and cannot respond. Here in Spain, it has been amazing to be able to order food in Spanish or talk to someone in a bar, knowing that they will understand.

A palace that Hajar and I stumbled upon

11. The super small classes

Talking about Spanish, I know I will miss the classes and professors. My largest class has ten students in it, which means we have many opportunities to practice and improve our Spanish. In particular, my grammar class has six people in it, and it always feel like we meet to have conversations. In reality, I am utilizing and developing the Spanish rules I have been learning.

BONUS: All of my friends

I’ve met so many wonderful people who will be life long friends, including my host family, students in my classes, and the speaking partners.

As usual, if you have any questions or want to hear more, feel free to email me at alison.cooperrider@gmail.com. Thank you for reading!

xoxo Ali

--

--