¡Vale, vale, vale!

Ali Cooperrider
5 min readSep 16, 2018

--

I began my journey by making a stop in Iceland for a few days and then continuing onto Madrid and Seville. From the Santa Justa train station, I hopped into a taxi and was on my way! As soon as the driver started talking to me, I thought I was in way over my head because I had no idea what he was saying and it was not the Spanish I had been learning the last several years. After driving in circles trying to find my street (he said it was normal because the roads are so confusing), I finally made it. The taxi driver dropped me off at my new home for the next couple months, and I met Natalia y Julia — la señora of my house and her hija (2 years old). They are so kind and patient when it comes to my Spanish and adjusting to my new life! While I was learning where the rooms were and how to work the keys, Natalia would say “¿Vale?” (bah-lay; similar to saying okay) and I would first respond “okay” and then correct myself to “Vale”. This exchange still happens often (even after two weeks of being here).

Orientation on the first night at Centro Norteamericano in a beautiful plaza

I took a much needed four-hour nap. Later I was able to shower and unpack my clothes and other belongings into my beautiful room that has a balcony (I live for it). Luckily there is often a breeze that keeps my room a nice temperature, but I also have a fan in case the breeze is not enough. It gets very hot and humid here. When the doors are open, I can hear people at the bodega, speaking Spanish quickly down below as well as people driving by on motos and cars. It amazes me that cars are able to drive through the calles estrechas (narrow streets). The first night of orientation Natalia walked me to Centro Norteamericano, where I would be studying for the next few months. All I could think was, “Wow, I am living here now!”. The architecture in the historic district is beautiful and so unlike anything I’ve seen before.

Walking home from the Centro
My favorite area in the Centro building

I mentioned how narrow the streets are, but they are also winding every which way. In the beginning, I struggled with this and was very frustrated because I am directionally challenged (yes, I know, it’s hilarious). Now, I’m comfortable with getting to and from my house to a few places — AND I can now understand the Seville Map. My next plan is to find different routes to the Centro.

The main shopping street

These last two weeks have consisted of our orientation as well as many paseos (walk) and tours around parts of the historic area close to the Centro. We frequently see major landmarks like La Giralda, La Catedral, El Torre del Oro, La Real Alcázar, and others. The amazing part is that I only live a 5–10 minute walk away from many of these places! Also, near these is the commercial district with many stores that I explored with some friends. This is my first time living in a large city, and it is amazing having everything I could possibly need within walking distance… especially the gelato at Rayas!

Guadalquivir River is a three-minute walk from my house and Barrio de Triana is on the other side

Monday through Friday we have had our intensive period that for me has consisted of a language module class, a class titled cultural realities of Spain, and another longer Spanish expression class. I’m not going to lie… the Spanish expression class is difficult. Not only the content but having to sit there for so long is challenging and slightly uncomfortable. This is partly due to the fact that at my school in the states, I haven’t had a class as long as this other than my chemistry and biology labs. I am slowly adjusting each day that we have class. The professors (and program staff) are very understanding and supportive of our abilities, which is comforting since it can be frustrating at times when you cannot communicate exactly what you want to with the vocabulary and phrases you know. The Spanish-Only policy is a pain, but I understand why it’s there! Soon I’ll be able to interpret and speak with more confidence.

The Spanish language/accent is amazing — especially the Andalusian way of saying things. I’ve had to learn that a lot of words are cut short, which can be somewhat confusing. Most locals speak very fast, but we are lucky to have a great staff at the Centro that slows their speaking down for us. To be honest, I’m also learning a lot of Spanish from Julia, who is only a baby! It is difficult at times to understand what she is saying, but she has also acquired the habit of cutting words short. Let’s just say that she keeps me guessing. Only two weeks into the program and living in Spain, and I am feeling better about my Spanish than when I first got into that taxi.

More to come later! xoxo Ali

--

--