The Cookie Monster

Ashton Lineberry
6 min readOct 24, 2017

--

Cookies, convos, and the journey to kindness.

I’ve always been a shy person. In fact, I’m more than shy. I’m a socially awkward, clumsy, short little nugget of a human who happens to have the dream of changing the world. And even at 5'1", I feel like I can reach this strangely unreachable goal. And in the midst of this dream, I’ve always wondered: What is it that needs changing? What can I, the clumsy nugget, possibly do? And then it came to me.

I’ve seen threats of nuclear war. I’ve seen racial tension and soul consuming prejudice. I’ve seen hate-filled comments on Facebook articles about why liberals/conservatives are “flaming idiots” who have “no idea what they’re talking about.” I’ve seen bruised arms, blackened eyes, and stone-built hearts. I’ve seen hatred.

But I’ve also seen kindness. I’ve seen love.

I know you. I know how you think. “The world is filled with hatred and bigotry. Where is the love?” I’ve been there. I have thought that. I watch as the media paints the world in a cloud of darkness and hatred. But it isn’t. It’s filled with good. And I aim to prove it.

I’ve seen bus drivers sacrifice their entire day simply to cart students around. I’ve seen housekeepers clean up yesterday’s alcoholic escapade without a second thought. I’ve seen black hands intertwined with white hands, hearts and eyes blind to color. I’ve seen next door neighbors placing fresh vegetables from their garden on my own front porch. I’ve seen children give up their own dinners to the homeless person on the street.

I’ve seen kindness. And I’m incredibly and undeniably sure that this kindness will always win. Love will win.

And so, in order to create an ultimately kinder world, to show the world that kindness triumphs, I and two others have set out on our own journey to create a kinder world. These are our stories:

Random Act of Kindness One

Today, I made cookies for my next door neighbors. I had no idea who they were, I’d never met nor talked to them, but quite frankly, I didn’t care. Just because I’m unfamiliar with certain people doesn’t mean they do not deserve kindness.

So I went to the store and bought two packs of those adorable little holiday sugar cookies, the ones that nobody can ever resist. These had little smiling pumpkins on the front. They practically shouted eat me, eat me. I knew they were the perfect cookies.

When I placed their smiling little faces on my cookie pan, I smiled back, knowing that perhaps I’d be able to give someone a small piece of love. I carefully spaced them, making sure they weren’t too close together, but far enough apart to cook evenly. I wanted pretty pumpkins, not deformed, terrifying orange blobs. I wanted to make my neighbors smile, not scream.

So I cooked them for ten minutes. Ten is minutes is THE PERFECT TIME, I’m telling you. It get’s that crisp edge, but also allows a gooey inside. I know my cookies, people. They came out beautifully.

After I placed all twenty-four cute little cookies on plate, I paused, a hundred thoughts running through my head.

What if they think I’m trying to poison them?

What if they think I’m really weird?

What if they aren’t even home?

What if I say something really stupid?

What if my breath smells bad and I accidentally breathe on them?

WHAT IF I TRIP AND DROP THEM ON THE FLOOR IN FRONT OF THEM?!

And although my thoughts deterred me for but a moment, I stopped, gathered the cookies, and walked out the door. I promptly turned left, because, well, it’s an apartment… I didn’t have to go very far.

KNOCK, KNOCK, KNOCK

No answer.

“Oh jeez, they really aren’t gonna be home.”

I stood there, rocking from side to side, humming to myself, a plate of delicious cookies taunting me. Do not eat the cookies, Ashton. DO NOT eat the cookies. You are kind. You are brave. You will prevail.

KNOCK, KNOCK, KNOCK

No answer.

Okay, so if they don’t answer I’m definitely eating these cookies.

My stomach grumbled, my hands shook with nervousness (or an intense craving for sugary goodness).

“I can’t do this…” I turned away semi-downheartedly, cookies in hand, when I heard a door open.

“HI! I’M YOUR NEIGHBOR.” I stood there, gleaming, the largest smile I’ve ever had on my face. My teeth probably even sparkled with charm.

“Uh…”

My charm wasn’t strong enough. The look on my neighbor’s face was terror mixed with confusion mixed with a dash of annoyance. The perfect recipe for awkward.

Prevail, prevail, prevail.

My heart thudded with each unspoken syllable.

“I BROUGHT YOU COOKIES.” My smile had turned from happily-forced to maniacal. The ends of my smile reached the corners of my eyes and my top lip stuck to the top of my teeth. My stringy hair poked out at all ends, my eyebrows were raised in strange glee, and I was stiffly extending a plate of cookies to a stranger.

“…” The cracked door shut slightly.

I took a deep breath and reexamined my social skills. These skills were a strong four out of ten. I clearly terrified the guy. I chuckled to myself a bit, trying again.

“I live next door. My roommates and I made an extra batch of cookies. We thought you guys might want some. I am not a murderer. And I swear these aren’t poisoned. Also, I’m Ashton.”

A smile immediately replaced his confusion, and he let out his own chuckle. “That’s really nice. Thank you.”

I nodded, replacing my crazy with a genuine smile. We immediately began to chat, getting to know each other. After a few minutes of small talk, we parted.

But we both parted with smiles. Genuine smiles. Not stalker-with-a-plate-of-cookies smiles.

You may be thinking, “So what? How does that make a change?” And I can answer to that.

I know that I can’t change the world with cookies and awkward introductions. But what I can do is try to make someone’s day a little better. And I think that’s what I did.

I either made his day by bringing him cookies, or made his day by leaving. Either way, it worked.

That said, It isn’t about donating thousands and thousands of dollars to a charity. It isn’t about buying nice gifts or adopting a thousand puppies (although I wish I could). It isn’t about recycling all the plastic in the world or volunteering at the local hospital for hours and hours a day.

Sometimes it’s simply about providing a hot meal to a stranger. Sometimes it’s simply about conversation. Sometimes it’s simply about a friendly hello or a genuine compliment. Sometimes it’s the simple things that mean the most. And those are the acts of kindness we tend to look over.

There is kindness EVERYWHERE on a daily basis. Truly. The world just tends to value extravagance over simplicity. Take note of your bus driver next time. Observe your professor. Thank the cooks in the dining halls.

Open your eyes. Kindness still exists. It triumphs.

Despite my shyness, despite my awkwardness, despite my clumsy nature and lack of normal communication skills, I made somebody’s day a little bit better. The genuine smile and unforced small talk was enough confirmation to prove it.

And the thing is, I wanted to do it. I wanted to be kind. And I know I’m not the only person who has these feelings.

And guess what? I’m proud. I’m proud of myself for being brave enough to go out of my way and do something kind for another human. I’m proud of myself for pushing aside my shyness. I’m proud of myself for knocking that second time. And truly, I’m proud of myself for not eating some of their cookies (I wanted to, believe me).

But I’m also happy. I’m happy that I made somebody else’s day. I’m happy that I took one of the frowns of the world and turned it into a smile. I’m happy that I made a new friend in my next door neighbor. I’m happy that I loved.

Because in the end, that’s what life’s truly about. Giving love to all and welcoming love from all. No stipulations, no requirements. Just love.

Even cookies can brighten a day. Even cookies can reach a heart.

Today, I was kind. Tomorrow, I’ll be even kinder.

But I’m not alone.

Have some extra cookies? It’s your turn.

--

--