A Day walking in Buyukada (Adalar), Istanbul — PART 1

Story of walking in Buyukada (Adalar), Istanbul, Turkey

Alireza Mirzabegi ✅
5 min readJan 31, 2023

Besides of my entrepreneurial life, I enjoy going outside and exploring new places in my neighbourhood or elsewhere. I believe it is highly beneficial to your life quality, sentiments, and circumstances.

Simply walk outdoors and look around to see what you can find. Sometimes excellent ideas arise from their environment. 🌈

Here we are, with one of my new stories. Today I’d like to share my new story. I went to Buyukada, a place where I enjoy walking about and discovering new things, so let’s go for a walk together.

Walking in the chilly weather is one of my favourite pastimes. Also, I had planned to go to Buyukada, but it was cancelled three or four times for various reasons.

But it finally occurred today, 31 Tuesday 2023.:D
I made the decision and prepared myself to go at midday.

I arrived at the Kadikoy harbour to take the Istanbul Kart, but the next ship scheduled to go was at 14:25, so I chose to take another transportation ship, the TURYOL, to Buyukada. I paid 50TL in cash to get a ticket, however, they would not take Debit or Credit Cards.

I’d like to share with you the timetable for TURYOL ships, which may be seen below:

Ok. let's go to the ship and start the journey

Our ship because of the cold weather, isn’t crowded, and I can sit anywhere I want.

The ship’s window is smashed. But it’s ok since I can shoot photos from the hole without getting cold :D be astute

Okay, Guys. Let me provide some ship-handling advice:
If you smoke indoors, you will be fined 617TL, so don’t do it. It’s expensive :D
There is also a tiny market in the ships, but it is expensive. You may be patient and purchase everything you want when you reach Buyukada.

Let’s keep going, here are more photographs along the way:

Istanbul has three islands, and I’d like to describe them all to you.

Come Down. Here is:

Burgazadasi: Burgazada, or Burgaz Adası, is the third largest of the Princes’ Islands in the Sea of Marmara, near Istanbul, Turkey. It is officially a neighbourhood of the Adalar district of Istanbul.

Heybeliada: Heybeliada, or Heybeli Ada, is the second largest of the Prince’s Islands in the Sea of Marmara, near Istanbul, Turkey. It is officially a neighbourhood of the Adalar district of Istanbul. Its name, meaning ‘with a saddlebag’ in Turkish, is supposed reference to the valley between two hills.

Adalar: The Princes’ Islands are a cluster of 9 islands southeast of Istanbul in the Sea of Marmara. Mainly car-free, the islands are known for their horse-drawn carriages (phaetons). At the highest point of Büyükada, the largest island, the 6th-century Hagia Yorgi Church has panoramic views. Nearby are the pine forests of Dil Burnu National Park. The Museum of the Princes’ Islands has exhibits on the islands’ history.

My goal is going to Buyukada right now.

I landed at Buyukada (Adalar) around 1:30 p.m. after leaving Kadikoy. Let’s go over the topics of interest here together.

Borek is a popular breakfast in Turkey; there are four or five varieties ranging from cheese to meat and more. You can try it if you go in the morning. It’s delicious, and I love it.

If you want to ride a bicycle, there is a market for renting a bicycle by the hour. You can approach them and catchit them to drive around Buyukada and have fun. but right now! I decided to go for a walk.

It’s worth noting that driving a car with foul is illegal on this island, and everyone uses electrical cars. It’s fantastic; I adore it. Fewer pollution, healthier environment.

The street view is lovely, and there are many homes in this lovely neighborhood.

After a few minutes of strolling, you will see numerous wonderful cafés and restaurant locations to choose from.

Come on guys, I discovered an amazing place called ADA PALAS. Let us ask them what this region is.

They said: We are delighted to welcome you, our distinguished guests, to our 19th-century masonry wooden home, Ada Palas Boutique Hotel, which was rebuilt in 2013 while retaining its historical texture, in the heart of Büyükada, the biggest of the Islands, just a few minutes walk from the town. We provide clean, pleasant lodging that will make you feel at ease and sincere in the ambiance of Büyükada. The Ada Palas Boutique Hotel includes 12 soundproof guest rooms.

OKAY, DONE. We will continue our adventure.

Remember that Adalar has steep slopes, so if you wish to travel longer, you’ll need to use more energy and effort.

That is the First Part of my story “One day walking in Buyukada (Adalar), Istanbul” If you are interested to continue this story to the next part, Let me know with Comments and send claps.

--

--

Alireza Mirzabegi ✅

Founder @ Stride & Mia🧨 // Entrepreneur💼 // Product Designer UI UX💡 // Startup Innovator🚀 // For Making World Better✨️💎 // For Greatness🏆 | Mirzabegi.com