Discovering HCDE: From Then to Now

Or, ‘What is HCDE’ and ‘How do I get in?’… plus a lot of additional / anecdotal information that no one asked for, but I’m giving to you all anyways :’D.

Alison Chiu
8 min readMar 2, 2017

To start, I’ll begin by saying that HCDE was (and still is) an adventure of discovery. It was the major I didn’t expect to find, or fall in love with, but has been the brightest moment of my UW experience. (Sorry mine’s not as cool to read as Gina’s, but that’s k.)

TL;DR: I applied twice, knew little about HCDE (besides what was presented on the departmental website and through an information session) and had never spoken with any alumni or the advisor prior to admissions.

What is HCDE?

(I still ask myself this sometimes.) To put it loosely, HCDE stands for: ‘Human Centered Design & Engineering’, which sounds as cool as it is. It’s as cool as an ice cube, which is pretty cool… and if that’s not enough for you, it’s like zero degrees Kelvin. So yeah, it’s the best thing since sliced bread if you’re asking me.

Sliced bread is amazing, but not as much as HCDE

Why did I choose it?

I remember taking one look at the description and thinking, “yeah, that’s what I want to do.” In high school, I was drawn to both the Arts and the Sciences, and didn’t want to settle for one over the other (which is really why I wasn’t too sad over not doing well enough in CSE 142 to major in CS). The grading was shocking, but taking the course also made me realize how much I didn’t want to do coding as a profession. It was fun enough, just not fun enough for forever.

Even while applying, I didn’t have the clearest understanding of HCDE. But what it means to me now is this:

Putting users at the forefront of design through research to build better understanding for more positive user experiences.

I like to think of myself as an advocate for users. Understanding users to help build better products because they are designed for a target demographic. It enables us to make fewer big changes to design, because the users’ needs and goals have already acknowledged and addressed through user testing / research.

The actual beginning

Prior to college, I was involved in both the Sciences and the Arts. I did Orchestra up until 9th grade, and took lessons for: piano, violin and art. I was also a member of the Rocketry Club and participated in the WAS (Washington Aerospace Scholars) residency program where we planned a mission to Mars. To sum it up, if weekends were steeped in the Arts, my weekdays featured the Sciences… and despite loving both, I hadn’t realized that they could coexist together until HCDE.

The anecdote

Okay, okay… ‘but how did you find it?’ I didn’t (LOL). But I’ll get to that in a moment. Fall quarter of Freshman year (2013), I took: CSE 142, Honors Math 124, ARCH 150, ESRM 150 and Honors 100. Between CSE and Math (which were both awful, and much regerts), it’s suffice to say I was horribly stressed and it reflected in my grades as well.

It also didn’t help that I had arrived at UW with a number of credits from my IB diploma and exams, which pushed me further ahead… especially after taking a full Summer quarter. In fact, I had so many credits that by Spring 2015 (end of Sophomore year), my registration was put on hold for Fall due to being an ‘Undeclared with Junior status’ and I had to speak with an advisor first before the hold was be lifted.

Anyways, it was around the end of Winter 2014 that my mom introduced me to HCDE (thanks mom) after hearing about it at work during a meeting. I took one look at the description and knew that was what I wanted to do. So much so, that I not only attended an information session to find out more… but also created a spreadsheet detailing my ‘plan of attack’ for the Spring 2015 admissions cycle. I also made a spreadsheet after being accepted (LOL). Some of you have probably seen it at some point, haha.

The Spreadsheet.

** Not featured, my TA position with the iSchool which I began Autumn 2016

Applying to HCDE

It took two tries. I was gutted by the rejection email for Spring admission… but it only made me want to major in it even more. That said, it also made me panic because ‘I might be a Junior without a major’ and then there was the whole rush to figure out backups and ‘what if’ scenarios. But I got in, so the point is moot now (I say that… except I honestly don’t know what I would have done, had I not been accepted).

But, onwards! By now, you’re likely wondering: ‘what did you apply with?’ A 3.31 GPA. Which is why your essay matters. If there’s one thing to take away, it’s this: HCDE looks at applications holistically. So what does this me? Well, if your CSE 142 grade is awful, and you didn’t really do too hot in the Calc series… that’s ok. Breathe. Your HCDE dreams are not over yet. Focus on your essay. It’s you in a nutshell, and it’s your chance to showcase your passion and drive for HCDE. Why are you interested in it? What are you going to do with it?

My essay talked about a personal experience involving technology and what my aspirations for HCDE were. Since I didn’t talk to people in the department, much of this was based my understanding of HCDE and the description / mission of the department.

My advice to you

HCDE 210 is a great opportunity that didn’t exist until after I had been admitted. For most people, this is going to be one of the best ways for getting to know the department. It might be a lot of work for a 4 credit class, but if you really love it and enjoy the assignments… then that’s what matters most.

I’m not going to highlight all the courses I took, but here are the ones that I think may be helpful:

  • COM (201, 202, 220): A lot of the concepts discussed in 201/2 are especially relatable. For example, understanding how ads work!
  • INFO 200: Great class and ties in well with HCDE. Definitely made me more aware of my interest in design.
  • ATM S 211: Or any of the other approved NW / I&S courses (you need them anyways for the Gen Ed requirements, so you might as well kill two birds with one stone).

Other things I would suggest are (but didn’t apply with):

  • HCDE 210: As a mentioned before, it’ll help you get to know the department and get a good overview of what it’s about!
  • DRG’s: Incredibly fun and open to non-majors to! They’re a fantastic learning opportunity (so if you don’t have the some or all of the skills, that’s okay). Sometimes, it does take a while for the list to get updated, so do check it periodically.

The Summer I was accepted, the rate was about 22%. It has gotten harder since then, but it isn’t impossible. If you are truly interested in HCDE speak with current & past students and engage with the department. Many of us are always more than willing to talk about our experience in HCDE.

So… what’s it like?

It’s like a massive family and a meme factory. The staff and faculty are all A+ and approachable. HCDE’s faculty are incredibly passionate about what they do, and it shows in their teaching. These are people who are teaching because they want to be. Some of them were, or currently are, also members of the industry which is incredibly insightful… especially when you can participate in some of their ongoing research through DRG’s.

My peers are some of the most amazing people. We all have our own interests and varying skills, but what holds us together is our love for technology and helping people. I have also gained a great love for whiteboards and sticky notes… which makes the Design Lab one of the most magical places to be.

Another of my favorite things about HCDE is the amount of projects. It can get busy when you’re trying to juggle multiple ones between various classes (especially if they’re group one), but the hands on experience is so much more valuable (to me at least) compared to exams. Many of the classes present the skills, and then provide the opportunity to practice them… which leads me to my next point.

The value of opinions

One main thing is to get used to sharing ideas and working with people. Don’t take critique / feedback personally. It’s not an attack on your idea, it’s sharing another opinion. Even if it hurts, understand that it’s for the benefit of the user and for the product’s design. It’s okay to not agree with the feedback, but don’t dismiss it immediately. Give it some thought, and a moment to ponder: Why they might say that? What made them think that?

Real Talk

As a designer, it’s easy to become attached to certain ideas, and hearing another opinion can be like a breath of fresh air. It’s like sticking your head in the mud, and then taking a breath for the first time. Especially for heavy or intense projects, we can become too ingrained in our ideas and get caught up in the details so much so, that we lose sight of our initial goal or purpose.

It’s also okay to ask for advice even if you know, or think you know, what you’re doing. There are times when I will ask someone to take a look at my designs as I describe what kind of experience I’m trying to create… and more often than not, they’ll point out something I hadn’t thought about. It the benefit of different experiences and it’s part of how we can strive for better, more inclusive design.

And, finally.

Be curious. If you ever thought about making a theme on Neopets, or liked tinkering around with them, then HCDE is might for you (but don’t quote me on that just yet, haha).

All jokes aside, during my first quarter at UW, I didn’t know what I wanted to do… but now, there’s no where else I would rather be than HCDE. This is the department I call ‘Home’, and I am incredibly proud to be a part of. It has been such a fantastic journey and it’s hard to believe that I am steadily approaching the end. Graduation arrives in June, and from there, a new adventure awaits.

(Thanks Russell)

--

--