Why I Cut My Own Hair and 6 Reasons You Should Too

Jeff Allen
3 min readMay 29, 2024

Be That Self-Made Barber of One

Photo by Chris Knight on Unsplash

I’m a barber for an exclusive client list of me. It’s been this way for decades. Back in high school, I would go to the local barbershop, get a fresh cut for less than ten bucks, then head to the convenience store for a hot dog and a soda. With enough left over to get a couple Bazooka bubble gums. Saving money is only part of my reasoning.

Save money

I still go to the barbershop occasionally, and I mean every other year at most. The last time I went I shelled out forty bucks for a haircut and beard trim, including tip. If I did that twice a month, that’s $960 in personal hair care. I’d rather put that money towards a beach vacation with my wife and kids.

No appointments needed

Seriously, I can call my barber any time of day and he’ll be there. If I need a quick clean up before an event, no problem he takes care of me. Having the skills to not only cut hair, but cut your own hair gives you the freedom to get that cut any time you want or need. I hate to wait in the barbershop anyway, I’d rather get in and get out.

Cut just right

There’s nothing worse than paying all that money for a cut and then you get home, and you find your hair has shifted, or now you have a spot sticking…

--

--

Jeff Allen

Husband, father, lifetime DIY'er, runner, former small business owner, and tech enthusiast sharing perspective thru writing.