I got cut.

Allen Little
2 min readMar 19, 2022

Not many people know this, but I’ve had a hand in the acting space over the last few years. Nothing too extravagant just a couple of commercials, music videos, and some gigs as an extra on set. I don’t speak much about it because I rather people just see me on TV for themselves.

Recently I was contacted to be on a reality tv series that would be featured on Peacock TV. The casting director seen my TEDx Talk and multiple videos of me speaking and she was sold. I was sent a long email on how to prep for the audition and was ready to go. Audition started and I gotta say, I felt really nervous inside. My first thought was “Whoa, I’m auditioning to be on a national tv series.” In the middle of the audition I started to act. Like literally, I threw away my authentic chill self, and went right into performance mode.

Casting Director: “What’s your deepest fear Allen?”

Me: “Oh I have no fear, nope, I’m spiritual now.”

Casting Director: “Allen what’s something you’re ashamed of?”

Me: “Shame? I laugh at Shame. There’s no shame in my world.”

Now I’m exaggerating the answers a bit, but you get the idea. The very path that created the success I have so far was me being authentic and true to myself. Now, at the opportunity to become a celebrity, I threw it away.

I got the email yesterday about not getting the role. But I thought about this for a good while. If I could go back, when she asked me what my greatest fear was, I would have responded “Dying alone.” If she asked me what I’m ashamed of. I would have responded, being 30 years old and still not where I want to be financially.

So here’s a testiment to authenticity. Being our true selves is what leads the way. God is in control of everything and we have to trust our faith. I’ve been through fires these past months but if God is for me then nothing can be against me. In the toughest times never give up your integrity. Always remain true to who you are. Heaven has a plan for you and that’s something that will not change. You’re meant for greatness, you just don’t have to lose yourself on the way there.

Stay Blessed,

--

--