Movie Review: Стиляги (Stilyagi)

Haley
2 min readMar 26, 2019

--

So I’ve been getting into foreign films lately as a result of my journey to learn French, but Стиляги was my first adventure into Russian films. I admit I was a bit of a skeptic when this movie was recommended to me. I was expecting a dark movie about the hardships of communism (most likely involving snow and death), but my imagined stereotype of Russian films was completely wrong. Стиляг is a musical drama with bright colors and jazz and an underlying message that is still resonating with me 24 hours after the fact.

Source

Synopsis: Стиляги tells the story of a group of young adults, known to their community as the Stilyagi, who have found an outlet from the pressure to conform in Russia through an adoption of 50s and 60s American culture (gelled-up hair, colorful clothing, Americanized names, and love for jazz and dancing). The movie centers around two characters: Mel(s), a young man trying to break free from the bonds of conforming, and Polly, a rebellious and self-assured girl drawn to adventure. Mel’s attraction to Polly is at the center of the movie, but in no way defines it or its message. Mel, Polly, and their fellow Stilyagis grow through the movie and question their parents, their society, the boundaries of culture, the authenticity of their own movement, and themselves.

I originally described this movie to a friend as a Russian version of Grease, but that summary in no way does this movie justice. Стиляги is not only about the freedom of self-expression through fashion, music, and dancing, but rather it questions what it means to be a part of a movement. How does a person feel when they break free from social expectations? To what extent does outward appearance define one’s morals? Can culture really be restrained by borders? And what authenticates a culture: prevalence or simply the existence of those who truly believe in its message?

Source

Rating: Overall, I would give Стиляги a 8.5/10 for originality, score, storyline, and the wonderful ending. I highly recommend.

Source

Language: Russian with English subtitles

--

--

Haley

College student. Writer. Trying to understand this world I call home.