Links to Museum Blogs

For anyone who is interested in what we’ll be sharing with students in our Intro to Museum Studies class this fall, here are a list of museum blogs we would recommend:

Center for the Future of Museums at AAM. http://futureofmuseums.blogspot.com/
- IMLS UpNext. http://blog.imls.gov/ 
Art Museum Teaching (https://artmuseumteaching.com/) from a consortium of art educators 
- The Empathetic Museum (http://empatheticmuseum.weebly.com/) looks at museums’ core values 
- The Incluseum (https://incluseum.com/) advances discussion of inclusive museum practice 
- Museum Techmuse (http://weblog.bradlarson.com/) — from Brad Larson, a Boston-based developer of museum technology. 
- Museums Now (http://museums-now.blogspot.com/) — from the folks at Gyroscope, an exhibition development firm with experience in science and children’s museums. 
- The Uncatalogued Museum (http://uncatalogedmuseum.blogspot.com/) — museum management from Linda Norris, who generally works with smaller museums but has a long relationship with the museums of Ukraine. 
- Bloun Art Info. (http://blogs.artinfo.com/) an aggregator of a number of art blogs 
- Museum 2.0 (http://museumtwo.blogspot.com/) — one of the most active and influential museum bloggers 
- Museum Notes (http://museumnotes.blogspot.com/) — Jeanne Vergeront is an experienced museum planner with a strong background in children’s museums. 
- Thinking About Exhibits (http://exhibitdev.wordpress.com/) — “thoughts on museums, content, design, and why they matter” from exhibit developer Ed Rodley. 
- The Museum of the Future (http://themuseumofthefuture.com/) — Jasper Visser’s take on museum innovation, from a global perspective. 
- Jumper (http://www.artsjournal.com/jumper/) — Diane Ragsdale comes from a theater background and writes about the economic impact of arts and how they can be more vibrant parts of community. 
- Real Clear Arts (http://www.artsjournal.com/realcleararts/) — Judith Dobrzynski is a New York journalist who writes about the art world in general, not just museums. 
- Culture Grrl (http://www.artsjournal.com/culturegrrl/) — Lee Rosebaum also writes from the New York point of view and has a reputation for outspokenness about museum operations.
- Illicit Cultural Property (http://illicitculturalproperty.com/) by law professor Derek Fincham, looks at international issues of cultural property as well as deaccessioning and other ethical issues. 
- Exhibit Tricks (http://blog.orselli.net/) — Paul Orselli, an inventive museum exhibit designer and developer, writes about what’s new in exhibits.
- Hyperallergic (http://hyperallergic.com/about/) is a fun forum about the place of art in our world. 
- National Museum of American History (http://blog.americanhistory.si.edu/) — one of the history museums that uses social media most actively. 
- Artful Manager (http://www.artsjournal.com/artfulmanager/) — Andrew Taylor, one of the Arts Journal bloggers, on “the business of arts and culture.”
- CODE|WORDS (https://medium.com/code-words-technology-and-theory-in-the-museum) — Various authors, all engaged in museums + tech/media. 
- A Series of Epistolary Romances (https://medium.com/a-series-of-epistolary-romances) — Follow-up to CODE|WORDS; “letters” back and forth among authors discussing topics in museums 
- Shelley Bernstein on Medium (https://medium.com/@shell7) — Shelley is the former Vice Director of Digital Engagement & Technology at the Brooklyn Museum and the current Deputy Director of Digital Initiatives and Chief Experience Officer at the Barnes Collection. 
- Fistful of Cinctans (https://fistfulofcinctans.wordpress.com/) — Mark Carnall’s personal blog on natural history museums and zoology. Mark is the Collections Manager of Life Collections at the Oxford Museum of Natural History. 
- More Than a Dodo (https://morethanadodo.com/) — The blog for the Oxford Museum of Natural History. 
- Once in a Whale (https://onceinawhale.com/) — Now defunct but a great blog that captured the process of the Oxford Museum of Natural History’s whale skeleton conservation process. 
- Musings from the University of Toronto (http://musingsmmst.blogspot.ca/) — Collaborative student/faculty blog from the Museum Studies program at the University of Toronto 
- Brown Girls Museum Blog (http://www.browngirlsmuseumblog.com/blog/) — Focuses on inclusion of minority populations in museum practices 
- Know Your Own Bone (http://colleendilen.com/) — Resources for engagement in museums run by Colleen Dilenschneider.

Show your support

Clapping shows how much you appreciated Alli Rico’s story.