I can’t quit you

Allison Magann, Lyricist & Poet
2 min readNov 27, 2023
Photo by Atharva Dharmadhikari on Unsplash

Why can’t I stop loving you

Because I really want to

Then I wouldn’t have to even worry

About all the strange things that I do

When I start missing you

I have never had this problem before

Usually it’s easy to walk out the door

But I can’t

Because I can’t imagine a life without you no more

What is going on in my heart?

I feel so lost when we’re apart

Do you feel it like me ?

Or is it make believe ?

I want you to know

I really tried to let you go

Telling myself you’re a jerk

That this will never work

It’s really hard for me to stay

It hurts me almost every day

You’re going to have to be the one to walk away

I can’t do it

So do it for me

Let’s go back to reality

Cause right now we just can’t be

And babe, this love is killing me

It’s not your fault it hurts

That’s just how our world works

I would have married you yesterday

And always smile when you call me bai

But the pain I feel on the days when you disappear

Is more than the pleasure when I feel you near

I didn’t know I needed you in my life

I didn’t know I would want to be your wife

I didn’t know I’d want to grow old with you

I also didn’t know that I would feel this blue

I also didn’t know about this pain I’m going through

--

--

Allison Magann, Lyricist & Poet

I write about luv, both bitter and sweet. I write bout justice, and racial equality. I write about DV and what we need 2 do. I write about me & I write about U.