4: Light Engines

allissa chan
11 min readNov 15, 2016

--

We were assigned to build “light engines” somewhat similar to nightlights, which would be turned on and off by flipping or manipulating the object somehow. The light engine would be built primarily out of different kinds of paper and a simple electronic circuit with LEDs and a tilt switch.

11–14 November 2016

To familiarize myself with the basics of the project, I first tried building different types of circuits. I was fairly familiar with basic circuits, but I ran into a lot of trouble trying to get the crimped metal tube connectors to actually stay in place (I ended up taping parts of the circuit in place to keep it together through the tests). I also experimented with the quality of light through different types of paper at different distances, using a single LED.

15–16 November 2016

wanted to explore different construction techniques with each concept. For the first concept, I tried to see how I could possibly use origami techniques in the light. I followed these instructions after looking a variety of folding techniques online, and realized whatever I would make through folding would probably involve a lot of very precise, repeated folds. If I was to further explore this type of “paper lantern” concept, I’d also need to figure out a way to diffuse the light from the LED.

concept 1: origami-based, turned on/off via flipping up/down

For the second concept, I tried a simpler, structured approach and constructed a small box as the starting point for the light. I wanted to try to incorporate a slight element of either movement or fun, and used rounded strips of paper to create a flexible, slightly bouncy base. When in the upright/on position, the light would stay balanced through the weight of the batteries. I had to experiment with a few types of papers to find the right combination of flexibility and strength (so that the batteries would push down enough so the base strips would flatten and keep the light upright, but still retain enough shape to not flatten completely), and ended up having to squash the final strips down for the light to balance.

concept 2: simpler forms, movable base, turned on/off by flipping up/down

For the third concept, I wanted to experiment with sewing as a method of construction. I ended up using some techniques I had learned from bookbinding and created a light that turned on and off as it opened or closed, with perforated “pages” as a shade for the light. If I was to further explore this concept, I’d need to figure how to better incorporate the electronics, particularly with how separate the battery box and wires were, and with how the LED kept the “book” from folding completely. I should also try a heavier weight of paper to for the light coming through the perforation to really stand out.

concept 3: sewing, bookbinding techniques, turned on/off by opening/closing

I also wanted to try a more organic structure with thinner, possibly crumpled paper and more free-form stitching, but I needed to get more (and possibly thicker) thread to do any more sewing.

21 November 2016

To see if it was possible to fold a rectangular, pleated shape that could collapse, I experimented with different right angle folds for a pleated piece of paper. I eventually wanted to experiment with building a “portable” light, or something that would collapse to a size roughly predefined by the size and weight of the battery box, when I had the proper materials.

Left & center: not a right angle, but still interesting; Right: fold pattern

I tried attaching two of the folded corners together to form a collapsible rectangle, but either because of my folds not being quite accurate or just because of the fold itself, the form was not able to expand all the way.

After researching possible techniques some more, I realized there was a simpler way to construct a collapsible form, though the resulting shape had beveled-off corners (and at the size I constructed it, was more octagon than rectangle). I would also have to figure out how to properly attach the ends of the accordion to flat surfaces, yet still allow it to expand and contract all the way.

22 November 2016

After several attempts at trying to construct a lamp with a collapsible part that would open with a back-and-forth motion, I decided to try a hinge movement instead. Still keeping with the idea of an “off” form that was solid, if not quite compact this time, I built a rough model of a possible light, working in some ideas from the bookbinding light model to figure out how the tilt switch could turn the light on and off.

I would definitely need to work on refining the shape and size of the whole lamp, as well as find a better material for the pleated paper shade and construct sides for the “on”/open state of the lamp.

29 November 2016

Continuing with the idea of a compact, easy to hold/transport lamp, I tried constructing basic forms using foamcore. As it turned out, my original idea for an extremely compact light engine based around the size of the battery box was not feasible, since the other parts of the circuit wouldn’t fit in and the box could then not open or close. The finished size was still fairly small, though.

I wasn’t completely happy with the way the light currently opened and closed, as the foamcore hinge wasn’t very smooth and the electronics were still visible. I might also want to use a different “cover” for the light other than the folded tracing paper, since the way I had it attached in the light didn’t seem very refined.

As I was talking with other people, I noticed that some flipped the light to work in a standing position, which while not what I had originally envisioned (or built the switch to completely accommodate), was another possible way to explore the concept.

29 November 2016

Crit + discussion notes:

  • How can the form be refined? (curved or beveled edges, different materials)
  • What interaction cues can I provide? People seemed to have trouble figuring out how the light was supposed to open/ turn on; using a tab, indent, or extending the edge slightly might help
  • “Shade” over light: can I refine the pleated paper somehow, or use a different method to diffuse the light (a straight piece of paper that curves when closed?)
  • General refining: adding a weight to the front flap to keep it open, incorporating or covering the electronics better, especially in the flap

1 December 2016

Thinking about possible ways to refine the form, I built a few different shapes to experiment with more angular/faceted and curved forms, as well as what I could do with the accordion-pleated shade. I also experimented with beveling the corners of the foamcore box.

2 December 2016

I wasn’t really satisfied with any of the forms I had tried, and decided to try building a different idea (but one that still used the hinged open/close motion). I wanted to have an outer “shell”of a translucent material that would act as a shade for the LED, and an inner component that could be rotated out to turn on the light. I could possibly also experiment with letting the internal workings/wires of the circuit be visible through the outer shell.

The first attempt at the outer shell I built from vellum and conservation board. I used a thin layer of white glue to put it together, which had worked in the past for normal paper structures, but unfortunately this time when the glue dried it wrinkled the vellum quite a bit.

3–5 December 2012

I rebuilt the outer shell, this time using double-sided tape to hold it together. The tape had another set of problems — namely that dirt tended to get stuck on the tape, and would be visible through the vellum — but it worked a lot better than the glue in holding the vellum together neatly.

Left & Center: rebuilt outer shell; Right: outer & inner shell
inner + outer shells together
inner + outer shell together (inner piece still uncovered)
motion-limiting piece

I wanted to control the range of motion of the inner piece, so I constructed a stop that both limited the angle of the inner piece and kept it in place. The vellum outer shell was also somewhat flimsy, so the motion limiter also acted as a frame for the edge of the vellum. Given the time/equipment, I would’ve liked to try to build the outer frame out of self-made waxed paper (i.e. some sort of sturdier paper I melted wax into for translucency), but the vellum and frame combination was sturdy enough for this model.

After I put the light together, I realized I needed a weight to keep the light balanced while the inner piece was being pulled out, so I added quarters in a paper base to the bottom. While the additional weight was helpful, it still wasn’t quite enough and if I were to rebuild the light, I would need to add more weight to the inside of the lamp (between the inner and outer pieces).

Final light

Unlisted

--

--