Ally Cat
1 min readApr 28, 2018

--

I didn’t really join them so much for the promise of work, as I did for being able to put “certified by” next to my name (because everyone knows that adding “certified by [fancy international company name]” is bound to make people take notice). I had to email Amy maybe 2 or 3 times to get the invitation email (and I think at the time I did wonder why she couldn’t just send a link in her response instead of insisting I wait for the one that was supposedly coming, but I think I brushed it off as some sort of internal thing — she had to wait for someone else to do it, or something).

I finally got the email, joined Basecamp, and waited. No jobs. Never jobs. I was billed the first time, but since it was only $5 I decided it wasn’t worth trying to fight to get the money back, so I just cancelled my membership and walked away. I eventually took “certified by” off all the social media accounts that I use. I think the only thing that still has it now is LinkedIn, though I think I’ll go change that too…

--

--