Five Outdoor Brands From New England You Should Know

Ally Healy
5 min readJul 19, 2019

Maybe you’re like me: a nomad at heart with a true spirit for adventure.

I am the aspirational van-life-er that has big plans for future trips but somehow, I always find my way back to New England. I’ve lived in Maine, Massachusetts, and Vermont and am halfway to completing the 48 4,000 footers in New Hampshire. I am fortunate to check a few more summits off every year. When it comes down to it, New England will always be my home.

As a traveler, some of my most treasured possessions become my gear. The gear that lasts is typically not the fanciest, most expensive product out there. For me, it’s simple, tried, and true. Gear is something that should get better with time. Sure, that old Sierra Designs tent from the 1970s looks cool, but is it functional? There is a market for new gear and industry to serve it.

Being in New England, there are plenty of opportunities to shop local. Why not extend that same care to your outdoor gear?

Most outdoor recreation companies are based in Western North America. Places like Colorado, British Columbia, and the Pacific Northwest have opened up shop and they mean business. Consumers begin to associate these locations as the mecca of adventure because that’s where their gear is made. By working in a lesser-known region, these New England retailers become unsung heroes of the outdoor industry. I have loved and enjoyed the products they make. They have brought value to my nomadic life.

Nemo Equipment, Inc.

If you’re looking for a sleeping pad that will last you a lifetime, look no further. I am obsessed with my Astro™ Lite Sleeping Pad because it is lightweight, durable, and packs up to the size of a large burrito. And when I say durable, I mean durable. I have a dog and his sharp nails have yet to pierce through the 20D fabric. Even if they did, it’d be no big deal because the stuff sack is lined with a small patch kit.

Designing the next prototype at their HQ in Dover, New Hampshire. PC: NEMO Equipment, Inc.

Nemo, which is short for “New England Mountain Outfitters”, has set out to make the most creative, thoughtfully-designed outdoor gear in the world. Their signature color is Birch Leaf Green. It was inspired by simply matching a green leaf from a nearby tree to a Pantone swatch. I haven’t tried any of Nemo’s other products but I can only imagine they’d be as kick-ass as my favorite sleeping pad.

Burton

Burton was born in the mountains. What started as a modest snowboard factory in 1977 has become an expansive outdoor lifestyle brand with strong values standing behind each product. Burton’s factory and supply chain standards are the highest in the industry. Higher, in fact, than Patagonia’s.

Burton’s new arrivals for Fall 2019 featuring the Grace Flannel and Shenandoah Beanie. PC: Burton

Burton’s clean supply chain and premium fabrics lend to a quality product. From jackets to tech fleeces and tees, the range of offering is far larger than just resort wear. If you’re looking for a high tech solution for on-snow activities, I’d recommend Burton’s [ak] outerwear line. It is made with durable GORE-TEX® fabrics to keep your comfortable, warm and dry through even the chilliest New England pow days.

I must be honest I’ve worked at Burton for two years now. Every day I’m still incredibly humbled to be a part of the company culture. Burton’s does so much to drive its mission and create a better world. From sustainability to extended paternal leave, giving back to the community it serves is written into Burton’s DNA.

Good To-Go

When I discovered Good To-Go, it felt like all my prayers had been answered. Founded by a nationally recognized chef who worked in the kitchens of New York, this Maine company takes backpacking meals to the whole next level. Good To-Go creates lightweight, gourmet dehydrated meals without ever using additives or preservatives.

Good-To-Go’s Granola is lightweight and packable. PC: Good-To-Go

Like many people, I refuse to sacrifice taste or quality when I go into the backcountry. So far, everything I’ve had from them is delicious. My favorite is their Herbed Mushroom Risotto. If you’re not into planning your meals or want to relieve yourself of the ever-looming question “What’s for dinner?”, Good To-Go is your best bet. They even offer Weekender Packs that bundle two entrees and one breakfast which makes meal planning a breeze.

Hyperlight Mountain Gear

The folks at Hyperlite Mountain Gear make backpacks and shelters for ultra-marathoners, bike-packers, alpinists, and thru-hikers. The first time I experienced this brand was on a NOLS trip out in Sinks Canyon, Wyoming. The climbing guide hauled up everything he needed for the week in a 40L pack. It was amazing what they managed to fit, and the bag looked durable. What began as white fabric had become dirty and soiled over time. To me, this is the best thing about HMG’s product.

The 3400 Southwest backpack. PC: Hyperlight Mountain Gear.

Let me explain: I dislike when gear looks fresh out of the box. If it’s being used, it shouldn’t look new. I recently bought a new pair of hiking boots and immediately splattered paint on the toe… now they feel more worn-in, more mine. That’s what works about the iconic dirty look of a well-loved Hyperlight pack. Plus, it’s Dyneema Composite Fabric creates a super-effective waterproof coating so you can say goodbye to your pack cover for good.

Darn Tough

How long do I have to live in Vermont before I start calling myself a Vermonter? If it’s anything like the timeline for wearing through a pair of Darn Toughs then I’m in serious trouble. Made with 150 needles per machine, Darn Tough socks are extremely warm and durable. The more you wash them, the stronger they get.

Made from ethically sourced Merino Wool. PC: Darn Tough

If you do wear though a pair, you can return them to any DT retailer and they’ll replace them for free. I hear this is how thru-hikers on the AT get away with only having one pair of socks the entire 2,200 miles. Socks are usually what I overpack, and my 1/4 Cushion Darn Toughs are always the first to get thrown in. They’re great for days on the mountain no matter what the season.

What are your favorite gear companies from New England? Share in the comments below.

--

--