Peanut butter fudge sauce

Ally Mitchell
2 min readSep 17, 2022

--

Last week, I let loose my internal Delia Smith and make a cooking video of this peanut butter fudge sauce along with my own voice narration! Honestly, I felt like I was on a cooking programme. Watch it below!

Peanut butter fudge sauce in action accompanied by my dulcet tones

And here is the accompanying blog post which I wrote while slightly depressed during lockdown…

In a week of Valentine’s Day and Pancake Day, here I am offering you peanut butter fudge sauce.

It’s a poor replacement, I know. But I hope it counts, dear reader.

During these ceaseless months of lockdown, I have become very attached to my food. I’m sure we all have. Instead of kissing the person you love on Valentine’s Day at least you can eat a loaf-tin of no-churn, brownie chunk ice cream. Or spread homemade lemon and lime marmalade on your morning toast. Or make peanut butter fudge sauce three times. Or avoid the bathroom scales.

For more recipes and stories on living in France, visit my food blog!

I’m reading cookbooks in bed again, so that’s a lockdown plus. They’ve been badgering me for months, eager to be bookmarked with post-it notes, and I finally caved as we all do with our beloved pets. With all this nightly food education, I’ll now have some fascinating tid-bits to share when we can actually see people again. (Did you know that you should probably be salting your meat a day in advance?)

As you can tell, I’ve been looking for the highlights. You can find some everyday, it builds memories that otherwise will smear and blur in this Groundhog-like daily routine — for instance, I don’t know how old my sourdough starter is. Worryingly, I started it around a week ago. So I’m only working with seven or eight days here.

The said peanut butter fudge sauce, the one I made three times, has been a highlight. It was poured over little date and banana puddings and served with custard. I swirled it into that brownie chunk ice cream. It now sits in a jar in the fridge, ready for brownies, milkshakes, or to pour over sundaes when lockdown is a little too much and you need to find your highlight.

It’s here in a jar.

Click here for the recipe!

--

--

Ally Mitchell

Brit living in France and eating my way through all the baguettes