Honolulu Museum of Art

Sweet Lychee
2 min readFeb 28, 2015

--

Jun Kaneko’s works of art.

Lately, I’ve been stressing out, which makes it difficult for me to formulate words = no new blog posts. Everyday, I’d mentally kick myself in the butt, for not blogging & all this pressure made me anxious; I knew I needed to get out of my head & determined the only cure for my blogging blues was immersing myself in art.

It’s been a couple years, since my last visit to the Honolulu Museum of Art & I could hardly wait to absorb every square inch of the museum grounds. Today’s mini adventure was essential to my mental health & I need to make a mental post-it to surround myself with art, whenever I’m stressed.

There’s something about being able to visually devour the details from an artist’s creation(s) that calms my nerves & quiets my mind; I like imagining the emotions an artist felt, as they painted/sculpted/carved their soon-to-be masterpiece. Even though, I speed-walked throughout the various exhibitions & posted photos of artwork that caught my attention on Instagram, I felt 1,000,000x better, when I returned from my lunch break.

If you need to submerse yourself in art & culture, I highly recommend a visit to the Honolulu Museum of Art. I can’t guarantee you’ll have the same experience as myself but (hopefully) you’ll leave with a deeper appreciation for art.

Originally published on May 17, 2012.

--

--

Sweet Lychee

I’m positively in love with words. There’s an Italian grandma inside me who bakes & cooks too much #CulinaryTherapy #LoveLettersToStrangers #NapQueen #HomeCook