Beetroot poriyal🌰A covid recovery Tale

Alphagery
2 min readDec 20, 2020

--

It all began when I acquired covid in August 2020 as an occupational hazard, I isolated myself at My home and began my daily ritual of cooking up meals for myself.Mornings would consist of dosas or chutneys, Lunch rice and curry, dinner would be dosas again.In my quest to heal myself with a nutritious diet( which was supplementary to the steroids and oral antivirals ), I would each day cook my own meal.This was well and good till the 8 th day or something.Then Came the beetroot poriyal.Poriyal is a Tamil dish mostly made using a principle vegetable, sauted with curry leaves, mustard,small onion and spices.so on the 9 ty day of my illness I began the process of cooking a beetroot poriyal for lunch to be had along with rasam(a soup ) and rice.As anyone who has ever eaten a beetroot Knows it tastes sweet.Out of dire necessity to clear up my Vegetable stock I decided to use a variety of ingredients in it.First I grated a coconut , peeled some onions and prepared some curry leaves, diced up some tomatoes and started to prepare my dish.The end result was a beetroot poriyal with such a taste that it still sends shivers down my spine,and alarms across my taste buds.If you have carefully noted the ingredients I had used ,all of them have a certain degree of sweetness in them and Alas in my quest to provide myself with a nutritious spicy savoury dish,I had almost perfected a jam suitable for all toatsts.Taste being one part, the consistency was let’s say a comedy of terrors.If there’s one thing common among all of us who cook,it is the fact that we seldom dump food cooked by us.Maybe it’s our ego preserving itself saying that somehow the dish cooked by us is better than what others could have done.so I ended up eating the beetroot poriyal for lunch and dinner along with rice..awwwhhh.the taste still lingers.

The picture below is what the dish should have been:

From the next day I wizened up and started ordering food ( no contact delivery).And by end of the qurantine I Immediately recalled my Cook so that I could protect the connoisseur in me from the Cook within.

Thereafter I made a speedy recovery and I can’t help but muse whether it was the antivirals, steroids or the 😂 the terror of the beetroot poriyal which helped my body in overcoming the covid infection.

--

--

Alphagery

travel,long drives, reading are my passion... writing is my curiosity, also a rookie chef, insatiable foodie and a relentless Wanderlust 🌟