Animated illustration

Mike Jackson
1 min readJul 5, 2016

--

I animated my first illustration last week. It was part of my new Illustrated Rock and Roll series, where I treat song lyrics as editorial assignments and produce a new illustration each Friday. The series is my forum to make the kind of artwork that I want, while also building something long-term. (More on all that down the road.)

The lyrics I animated this time around are from the Alabama Shakes’ song ‘Hang Loose’:
“Put your worries on the shelf
Learn to love yourself”

I had a ball mapping out the illustrations and figuring out how to produce the drawings that would make the illustration move. (Hint: I used tracing paper and Photoshop.)

It was fun to create something specifically with technology beyond the printed page in mind. Looking forward to telling more stories through simple animations – including yours! Let’s talk!

--

--

Mike Jackson

Illustrator who can turn a phrase with a flick of my wrist. See my work at alrightmike.com — incl. the year-long, lyric-based Illustrated Rock and Roll series.