I’ll Continue Breaking Glass

A poem for the girls

Alyssa Sperrazza
1 min readFeb 17, 2019

You say my words mean nothing

That they are as empty as they are vast

My answers never meet

The invisible standard you have set

I’m not invited to most tables

So I must carve my own path

I must speak loud enough for you to listen

But quiet enough to not be considered brash

I’m told to cover up my body

But that does not stop the looks

Or the uncomfortable feeling I get

While walking home from work

My pepper spray ever sitting

Right within my reach

Have you ever worried about that?

The fear of rape or defeat?

I work twice as hard

Get up before it’s light

I try to show my worth

But you continue pushing me aside

But this will not dissuade me

For I know what I am worth

Whether you value me or not

Is not consequential nor my concern

I will continue breaking glass

I will help the ceiling fall

Whether by doing it myself

Or lifting her up so she won’t fall

--

--

Alyssa Sperrazza

law student | coffee and language addict | currently writing about human rights, international law, and politics