Follow me, and I’ll follow you back!

Altaira
1 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

Medium recently emailed, saying that anyone with under 100 followers would be stripped of their ability to earn money via the platform. To be honest, I’ve only ever earned a few cups of coffee from my work on this platform, but the idea that I may be denied a future revenue opportunity irked me. A popularity contest? Really, Medium?

So I started a few follow chains on my Facebook groups, and I joined others already in progress.

Then I took a good look around Medium.

Folks, we are a community of writers. Nearly every profile I find has at least one piece, often dozens. The myth of the “reader only” Medium member is determinably non-credible. We’re a bunch of word geeks, y’all.

So, let’s support each other. Let’s break the popularity contest. Let’s come out as the thesaurus-using, dictionary-checking wordsmiths that we are.

Follow me, and I’ll follow you.

--

--

Altaira

Mediator, Writer, Human Rights Educator/Advocate, Public Speaker, Rebel, Intellectual, Nature Lover, Insatiable Learner.