Project 4 Abstracts, Light, & Color

Joel Villafana
3 min readMay 22, 2019

--

Photographic Experience

This quarter has been a great learning experience for photography. I believe I have learned more this quarter than most of my whole college experience. Its been awhile since Have genuinely wanted to learn as much as I could from a class. If I could describe it i would say photography was a skill I thought I was decent at and only now have I realized that I actually have a grasp at what real photography could be. I never realized how much went into photography and the three key points ISO, Aperture, and shutter speed really made me realize how important setting these adjustments is for a high quality image. One of the most important lessons ive learned is lighting and specifically how lighting plays a role in making an image over or under exposed. Also a big learning curve for me was how I needed to adjust my iso since I learned that even though higher ISO may look like it fixes the under exposed image in reality it can make your image heavily pixelated.

Example of a balanced shutter speed ISO and aperture

Abstraction+Image Observations

Creating an image with just folded paper and White Light

For me its still a weird idea that just because a scene looks like it wouldn't capture beauty something as simple as paper and light can capture a scene you never thought imaginable. For example when you zoom in on the webbing of the tear of paper it creates textures that in a way is very soothing. What I have observed was that if I set the scene in any way you can capture a texture you couldn't see and that every variation of position creates an entirely different image.

Also with the position of light moved just slightly creates a different shadow which can change the images feel. As I was playing with shadow I also learned

that if the object was farther from the background the shadow color dimmed to grey whereas a close subject to background created a heavy black shadow so if you place images at varying lengths you can create a colorful shadowed image just by position of light and subject. What I tried to challenge myself to do was set the scene in a way I wasn't trying to plan purposelessly and use the different angles of light to change the way I saw the scene. This strategy really gave me an appreciation of how a photo can

manipulated just purely from light. A single position of the subject can produce a million different outcomes just by changing lights angles and position from the subject.

All and all this project was a ton of fun and well worth doing just purely by the amount I learned about lighting and composition.

--

--