Allan Rae
3 min readOct 9, 2016

--

Jason Stelzner, as a proud citizen of the great white north, I am going to suggest that maple moose steaks, tasty as they may be, would be an underwhelming example of what we Canucks can do with some meat and a skillet. And while my own culinary skills would no doubt render white cheddar mac and cheese a challenge, I do know what I like and how to make it sound appetizing. I suggest some seared Venison steaks with wild blueberry chutney, served on a bed of Swiss Chard and juniper infused pearl onions.

But I’m getting off track.

Really wanted to say thanks for this Jason, especially the generous and discerning critiques of the writers you suggest. A few of those are my favourites as well, and the ones I’m not familiar with currently I hope to be soon.

One of the things I am happy to see come out of my original post was the amount of recommendations of relatively new or previously unknown writers. The effort and time it takes to build a readership on Medium is significant and often difficult. Those of us who have been lucky enough to attain a decent sized following are in a perfect position to introduce and amplify the voices of new writers who’s talent catches our eye.

To that end, I’m going to mention three writers, two new and one not so new, that I have been enjoying recently.

Zed Adam Idris is a writer from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia who writes short stories, memoir, and is currently at work on his first novel. C(G) just published this thoughtful meditation on death, mortality, and the potential we have for connection.

marika bianca is someone who I’ve recently been reading a lot of, and I have to say the more I read the more I hope she will submit some of her gorgeous poetic prose to C(G). I hope she will consider this an open, and rather public, invitation.

ER nurse Nicole Whalen is someone who I enjoy reading immensely and always look forward to her next piece. Like this compelling, raw, and unflinchingly honest look at the complicated and challenging ways dementia and cognitive impairments can create havoc in families. Insert less than subtle hint here: Nicole is another author who pens the type of work I’d be honored to host at C(G).

Allan Rae is a qualitative researcher exploring the intersections of HIV, stigma and PTSD through the use of personal and community narrative. In 2006 he left a career as a flight paramedic to obtain his MFA in creative nonfiction. Stray dogs, satire, and Starbucks do not displease him.

--

--

Allan Rae

Educator, HIV researcher, former flight paramedic, MFA, poetry, creative non fiction, memoir, intersectional social justice, satire, dogs. https://allanrae.com