Bullet Journal

Elizaveta Snezhinskaya
3 min readFeb 25, 2018

--

© arinashabanova

Vacation is over and we return to our routine job and stressful studies. It is super difficult to keep in mind everything. So, how to keep life under control? I turned to TED for help and that’s what I got… Ryder Carroll, a digital product designer living in NY, created a new system combines datebook, to-do list, diary and named it ‘’Bullet journal’’.

Now people all over the world use this system in every-day life and even organize special groups! Are you intrigued? So what’s so special about ‘’Bullet Journal’’ and how to get it?

If you decided to start your own ‘’Bullet Journal’’, first of all, you should buy a notebook. It could be a simple notebook with plain or dotted pages. Also, you can buy special Bullet Journal notebook. Take your favourite pen, markers and let’s start!

Keys On the first page you could write ‘’Keys’’ list. This page will help you to not forget all bullets used in Bullet Journal system.

Bullets Write your tasks and mark them with a simple dot.

Task completed Summing up the day, start to ask yourself: did I finish the job? Yes? Just mark it with an X!

Task migrated If there was not enough time to make something, move the task to another day or week and mark it.

Task closed If you don’t complete the task and think it doesn’t matter anymore — cross it.

Events All your meetings mark with O in Bullet system.

Notes When you need to note some thoughts, ideas or facts mark them with a dash.

Your bullets Bullet Journal is a flexible system. So you can devise your own bullets for your special purposes!

Index Now it’s time to number all pages and fill out Index page. Note down here all key pages of the Journal.

Future log This page is used to collect tasks that need to be scheduled months in advance or things that you want to get around to someday. Take a ruler and set up your Future Log by graphing the pages by the number of months you’ll need.

Daily log The Daily Log has a similar design and there is for day-to-day use. Write the date at the top of the page and fill it with tasks, events, notes etc.

My experience

I started to fill out my ‘’Bullet Journal’’ month ago and I can say my life became more rationalized and sensible, my head doesn’t explode over hundreds of tasks. My journal really helps me to control my life and to move forward confidently to objectives, thats why I advise it all my friends and you.

Original article: https://readymag.com/sneg/BulletJournal/

--

--