Why I’m not watching the video of George Floyd’s murder

Alvin O.
2 min readMay 27, 2020

--

Photographed by Andre D. Wagner

“The function, the very serious function of racism is distraction. It keeps you from doing your work” — Toni Morrison

I am not watching the video because it reminds me that in the eyes of the state, I am not enough.

I am not watching the video because I don’t want to be normalise the brutal assassinations of black people. Black men shouldn’t have to plead to live and their massacred bodies shouldn’t be used as tools to further political agendas.

I am not watching the video because I don’t want to see the threads and comments by racists underneath who use our stories and behaviours to justify cold blooded murder. “Why didn’t he just…” or “she should have just …”

I am not watching the video because I don’t want to spend the week in endless conversations about how the world sees me as a worthless body that can be executed as, and when the state sees fit.

I am not watching the video because I don’t want to grow disdain and hatred for all the non-black people who love (and profit from) my culture but have not uttered a single word today.

I am not watching the video because I have work to do.

It doesn’t mean I don’t care, but because of how much I care. Today, I choose self preservation. Tomorrow, we go to war.

At this point in a piece, I usually put together a ‘call to action’ type message in hopes to galvanise you to play your part in creating a more just society but not today. Today we rest.

I didn’t watch the video but I’m sure many of you have, and many of you have had to experience all that I have tried to avoid. If this is the case, I want you to spend some time getting all the joy and beauty you can.

The world is brutal on us but that doesn’t mean we can’t love fully, live freely and protect our peace.

RIP George

--

--

Alvin O.

student | founder | storyteller | words on community, culture and everything in-between