SAD MOVIES WITH FAMILY DRAMA WHEN YOU NEED A GOOD CRY OR AN UGLY CRY

Alvira Martasoebrata
6 min readJul 31, 2023

--

RANK ACCORDING TO SADNESS

Time and time again, we hear that “family is most important” and “blood is thicker than water.” However, not everyone is lucky enough to receive love and support from their families.

You may have unhealthy patterns within your blood family, but that doesn’t mean you need to feel lonely when sharing your issues. We can absolutely choose our family, it’s all about deep connections. For some people, a chosen family could consist of best friends, or people who have been through similar experiences.

No family is perfect. However, having a family that is always there to support you, even in your most challenging times, is a gift worth more than anything you can imagine.

If you’re in the mood for a good cry, to ugly cry, we’ve rounded up 15 sad movies about parent-child relationship, honest portrayals of divorce, and situations where strangers have become like our extended family. These movies will certainly do the trick. Most movies on the list are dramas, and some of them are both sad and funny.

I hope everything is doing great!

  1. EVERYBODY’S FINE (2009)

I loved this movie! It truly touched my soul, and I even cried! It serves as a powerful reminder for parents to love and accept their kids just the way they are. I thought that DeNiro’s performance in the film was truly spectacular.

2. HOW TO MAKE MILLIONS BEFORE GRANDMA DIES (2024)

As an adult, I came to realize that…without my grandma I wouldn’t be where I am today. My grandma is a very gentle, loving, and caring person. She was full of stories, but she always camouflaged her sadness very well. And yeah, in this movie… I can sympathize to how I might was close to the grandma’s character.

3. A MAN CALLED OTTO (2022)

I couldn’t have asked for a better actor to play Otto! He easily steals the show. Every character is well-developed, and the connection is amazing. Please watch this, it is a sad but quite fun movie that will leave you with so many emotions. Seriously, I couldn’t stop crying :(

4. THE PURSUIT OF HAPPYNESS (2006)

This was a truly masterpiece about the struggle of a father, the lowest point of his life, but anything is possible : he can always make it! No movie can beat a portrayal of a loving father-son connection like “The Pursuit of Happyness.”

5. THE DEEP END OF THE OCEAN (1999)

A lost kid is so scary for parents. We’ll find ourselves showing a variety of emotions that could trigger anxiety. This movie is scary :( I can’t even keep calm

6. EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE (2022)

You’d be amazed by how great ‘Everything Everywhere All At Once’ is! Please see the link below.

7. STEPMOM (1998)

I remember going to see this movie when I was a kid, and I still can’t watch it without crying. Stepmom is the ultimate tearjerker, and I’m sure many particular scenes are deeply meaningful for everyone.

8. LION (2016)

I remember crying so hard when I saw the last scene of Lion. It is one of those true stories that translate amazingly onto the screen. It tells the story of how five-year-old boy who becomes tragically separated from his family in India. Adopted by an Australian couple, he embarks on a new life in Tasmania.

9. KRAMER VS KRAMER (1979)

I’ve told you a hundred times that Meryl Streep is the best living actress! People say there’s a thin line between love and hate. I think Kramer vs Kramer is a brutally honest portrayal of a stressful marriage and divorce.

10. THIS BOY’S LIFE (1993)

Caroline and her son, Tobias, have been driving from town to town trying to make a living establish a life. She meets a charming guy, Dwight, who turns out to be an abusive husband when they get married. This Boy’s Life released in 1993. The movie made me cry. It was one of the outstanding movie of Dicaprio’s, and surprisingly I didn’t think that I could hate De Niro so much.

11. MARRIAGE STORY (2019)

You can genuinely feel all the painful emotions they’ve conveyed, it’s one of the most realistic scenes I’ve ever seen.

12. HILLBILLY ELEGY (2020)

This is an awesome movie, incredibly well-acted and well written. It was an emotional rollercoaster, and I didn’t even know it was based on true events.

13. GIFTED (2017)

The chemistry of these two (Chris Evans & Mckenna Grace) is just too damn strong, everything! The story is heartfelt, and I love Mary Adler. She’s genius, lovable, and badass kid ever.

14. ROMA (2018)

It’s absolutely amazing to witness a beautifully crafted masterpiece. I’ve heard many people express their opinions that Roma was boring, but I now understand that Roma is not suitable for everyone.

15. LET HIM GO (2020)

There’s a scene that simply breaks my heart, as the bond between the grandkid and his grandparents is strong and heartwarming.

16. FOUR GOOD DAYS (2020)

Both leading actors were so amazing, and take a look at Mila Kunis! She truly embodies her character. Impressive! Remember, every mother wants to give the world to her daughter and will do whatever it takes protect hers.

17. THE FALLS (2021)

A Taiwanese film, “The Falls” follows a single mother and teenage daughter who find themselves struggled stuck at home during the Covid-19 pandemic. They have to face reality in a way they had never done before. It’s a slow burning yet poignant and suspenseful. It’s captivating to watch. Sometimes, we can parallels between the story and characters in the film and our own lives.

--

--