Matthew Lyers
2 min readJan 18, 2019

Vibehub using Unity 3D’s sample fps game as their first game release.

Here is Vibe or Die

Alvaro U. Luna

​It’s a “sample project”, not a demo. It was made to show people and studios both big and small how they could make a project with a AAA look and feel in Unity (and with a closer to “real life” scale). Even their scene setup and everything is there to show you ways to achieve this. It goes way beyond just showing you how to make a character controller which can shoot and jump, or how to make a networked game. Sample projects that go this in-depth are rare. I can tell there are some complex shader stuff going on too (which is usually beyond the skill of most Indie Devs), and the assets are there handed to you for free (which as far as I can tell, you are free to use in your own Unity projects).

I think this was made to show what can be done with a small team on a budget, a team of 5, I think? and some contractors for art in the final stages (I don’t think they had any 3D artists in their team). I agree a AAA studio wouldn’t use most of the assets, but a lot of starting Indie teams don’t have tech artists and such available to them. I’m sure a lot of them will be glad to use some of the stuff. Anyway, maybe they just didn’t communicate properly with the contractors? I don’t know. I have to hand it to you that I haven’t seen the project first hand yet, but I’ll likely leave it downloading overnight eventually. Though I’m not in a hurry, it’s not the genre or visual style I usually prefer. I’m only really interested in checking the multiplayer implementation

Matthew Lyers

Vibehub using Unity 3D FPS sample game will be the first game released by Vibe. Thoughts?