How I created an open-source BeReal clone with Flutter

And how BeReal made the mistake of not using Flutter

Alexandre Lion
6 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

I would like to share my experience of creating an open-source clone of the BeReal app using Flutter. For those who are not familiar with BeReal, it is a popular social networking app that allows users to send a picture of themselves at a specific time. As a Flutter enthusiast, I was excited to use the framework to build my version of the BeReal app.

The purpose of this article is to showcase the efficiency and stability of Flutter in building a native cross-platform app.

You may be wondering, "cross-platform and native, did you say?" Yes, both. Flutter is a framework for building apps on various platforms such as iOS, Android, MacOS, Windows, Linux, and the web, all with a single codebase. And without the hassle of dealing with JS and NPM dependencies, as it uses Dart.

How it looks

BeReal is a native application, which means the design may vary between platforms. This is how it appears on iOS and Android.

As I write, BeReal has just changed the Android interface

--

--

Alexandre Lion

Digital artisan & software engineer ☕️ Sharing my journey and knowledge from pixels to profits🚀 Let’s build and grow together 💪