Finance Cheat Sheet for SaaS

Alyona Mysko
2 min readJul 12, 2023

--

The 7-Part Cheat Sheet I Wish I Had as a New CFO or a New SaaS CEO…

I combine two roles at my startup. Before building a startup, I’ve been working in finance for over 8 years as an auditor at Big4, financial analyst, and CFO. I realized that most SMBs can’t afford ERPs for $100k, yet, they are using morally old Excel spreadsheets and processes from the 1990s.

And actually, I was just bored with doing the same manual monkey job every week/month as a financial analyst and CFO. With some good thinking and some code, I decided to use Google Spreadsheets to power a fast, inexpensive, and agile financial system that would serve the needs of startups and SMEs.

That’s how we started Fuelfinance with a G Sheet MVP. Now we’re building a much more sophisticated product that helps automate the CFO function for startups and SMEs. So, all entrepreneurs can access world-class financial management and avoid financial mistakes.

And being a startup founder is a new role for me. I have many challenges with understanding marketing, sales, product development, and team management. But fortunately, I am good with our finance 😅

So, during the first two years, we were bootstrapped. At the end of the previous year, we raised our first seed round from two CEOs of unicorn companies, Bolt’s Markus Villig, and SendBird’s John S. Kim as well as San Francisco-based Stratmind and Eastern Europe-focused Bad Ideas funds.

But I always wear two hats. As a CFO, I always want to check all possible metrics and make data-driven decisions. As CEO, I want to simplify financial management.

So, I made this Cheat Sheet using all my experience from the last 3 years of building a SaaS startup and 8 years in finance. I hope it will be useful.

Firstly, in this Cheat Sheet, you will find the information that is valuable for me as a SaaS CEO and CFO. I wish I had had one when I started Fuelfinance.

It included the following:
▪️ Benchmarks
▪️ Weekly/Monthly CEO Key Metrics
▪️ Information for Fundraising Data Room
▪️ Financial Software
▪️ Terms
▪️ Key Formulas

Is there anything that can be added to this cheat sheet? And if you need an HD version, just check this link => https://fuelfinance.me/cheat-sheet-saas/

May The Profit Be With You 💚

--

--

Alyona Mysko

Make finance sexy 💚💸 CFO turned entrepreneur. CEO Fuelfinance.