For the Love of Reading: A Poem

Alyssa Reynolds
1 min readJun 10, 2018

--

A collection of old Atlas’s photographed in the British Museum by ARR

Books empowered me, books comforted me, books challenged me, books walked with me. Book are the reason I breath, think and dream. Books allow me to see and feel what my eyes, fingers, tongue and toes cannot.

Books allow me to be anything I can imagine and a thousand more things beside. They connect us, they reconnect us, they are us.

For the Love of Reading

Books of lore

endowed with one thousand stories.
Dressed with records made
of pink lotus and broken shell days
when children skipped
across stepping stones.

To secret hideaways.

These tactile memories,
can be flipped from page to page.

As if the reader travels time, space
and mind

in a quick crinkle

flip, flip…flip

of ink, and parchment.

ARR ~ Moony

For more of my poetry, visit my Instagram: @a.r.reynolds

--

--

Alyssa Reynolds

Imaginist: fantasy writer, intuitive reader, poet of myths and magick, photographer, traveler, faerie dreamer. Find more at: http://linktr.ee/alyssaimaginist