Adam Paul
2 min readJun 22, 2016

Help November Project Stay at Lincoln, Meridian Hill

I’m writing you today as one of many voices from November Project DC. I want to take this opportunity to tell you why November Project’s use of National Park locations — specifically the Lincoln Memorial and Meridian Hill Park — are so important. And ask you to help us continue meeting at these locations.

I’ve regularly attended November Project works for just over two years. I am constantly amazed by the group’s positivity, rising early to encourage health, smiles, and hugs. I’ve seen group member’s put smiles on strangers faces, and often turn those strangers into friends. DC is a better place for the all-are-welcome community November Project ceaselessly builds.

We strive to bring people together from across the city. Being able to workout at the Lincoln Memorial serves that mission. People often first encounter our workouts as part of daily commute or stroll. And they do so because they can see us on the steps of the Lincoln. There is nowhere else in DC where we could be as visible to so many, from long-time early morning runners to tourists from across the country.

And if being at Lincoln makes us visible, racing at Meridian Hill Park lets us contribute to the vibrancy of DC. I was married at the Josephine Butler Park Center, overlooking the top of the park. Being there each week reminds me how fragile our parks can be. The parks non-profit that operates the Butler Center choose that location specifically to dedicate itself to Meridian Hill at a time when crime had made many fearful to use the park. So it’s made me extremely proud that November Project doesn’t just run there but invests in Meridian Hill, such as by organizing efforts to clear our drivers after last year’s massive snowstorm or helping to clear litter from the park’s paths.

I hope you find the leaders of November Project as welcoming, thoughtful, and kind as I have. And I want to echo the invitation you received from our co-leaders: please join us at a workout. Just show up, even once, and I know you’ll see how we brighten places all over DC.

Thank you,

Adam Paul