AMA FRIMPONG

ARTIST, CURATOR

Ama Frimpong
4 min readMar 23, 2023

Born: Ama A. Frimpong

aka Chelsea Frimpong, Vawltaire

Origins: Bantama, Kumasi, Ghana

Art Forms: Music, Photography, Film, Sound Curation

Major themes in work: nostalgia, spirituality, home, beauty, vulnerability.

Birth of an Artist…

Ama Frimpong photographed by Adams (2023)

Creativity has always been an integral part of my life. As a little girl growing up in Bantama, Kumasi, I was always involved in some form of creative activity. From singing in choirs, to writing and acting in plays to joining the dance troupe. I had a broad imagination and I wasn’t afraid to use it.

La Femme in the Big City, Bantama, Kumasi (2018) photographed by Ama Frimpong

Music was my first introduction to active listening and the radio was an early inspiration. I absorbed lyrics, melodies, artists…practically anything that scintillated my mind into creative action.

”Folon” studio album by Salif Keita (1995)

Salif Keita, Kojo Antwi, Meiway, Ofori Amponsah were regulars that often poured from my uncle’s ghetto blaster. However, I established a real intimacy with music when I was gifted the Waiting to Exhale Soundtrack CD. A soothing body of work that inflamed my interest in singing-songwriting significantly. The booklet attached to the CD detailing songwriting/production credits, lyrics etc. was an intimate glimpse into the artistic process and I remain eternally grateful for that beautiful foundation.

“Waiting to Exhale: Original Soundtrack Album” produced by Babyface (1995)

A Woman of many talents…

From place to place, my artistry has taken different shapes. Songwriting with friends from SOTN [the art collective] in Accra, or photographing from my room in Toronto, I enjoy exploring varied ways of expression and narration.

“SKIN” written and performed by Vawltaire

Songwriting is a grounding process for me. Singing is a sweet challenge. Photography and painting allows me to trust the eye. Curating indulges a meticulousness in me. As an artist, I believe in the freedom to be brilliant in multiple lanes in different avenues.

2023 and beyond…

Sound Curation

What is music if not a collection of sounds in harmony? What is humanity without communication? I love music and it’s ability to communicate a feeling, a memory, and hope for the future.

extc: HIPLIFE: A Contemporary Classic Playlist & Photo Album photographed by Adams (2023)

In 2023, I look forward to putting music together in meaningful ways through specialized playlists/soundscapes, designed to tell a story, convey a mood and provide an overall unique listening experience for people and places.

My first piece of the year, HIPLIFE: A Contemporary Classic, is 1/3 of an audiovisual series merging curated playlists with imagery inspired by prominent Hiplife songs and artists that evoke memories of growing up in Kumasi, Ghana.

The project is set for release in April 2023.

Artistry as purpose

…for one who uses her talents in service and dedication to God, herself, and the world.

Ama Frimpong photographed by Adams (2023)

Creating is one thing, sharing art is another. Over the years, I’ve accumulated a slew of unreleased work from scrapped mixtapes to estranged film projects due to imposter syndrome, procrastination, perfectionism, etc.

2023 marks a new dispensation in which I realize creating AND sharing is an acknowledgement of my divine purpose as well as a massive show of gratitude to God for my gifts.

Sharing art (music especially), allows me to reach out to the world in a real way, reflecting the times just as they are, imperfect yet inherently beautiful.

Labadi, Accra photographed by Ama Frimpong (2022)

I create for freedom. Breaking away from the internal and external pressures of producing perfection and to simply narrate life as a human through art.

As an artist, I am inspired by other artists and I hope to achieve alongside the greatest minds that ever lived, leaving the world better than I found it.

Thanks for reading xx

HIPLIFE: A Contemporary Classic Playlist is now available on Spotify.

The Photo Album is live on Instagram.

Read more about the creative process here: https://medium.com/@amafrimpong/hiplife-a-contemporary-classic-69d8a02b65ef

CONNECT

E-mail: chelseafrimpong@gmail.com

Instagram: @vawltaire

Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/the-chelsea15

--

--