Growing up with divorced parents isn’t a pain I would wish for any child to go through

Amaliehovmund
3 min readMay 17, 2020

In America, someone gets divorced every 13 seconds. The wife initiated 75% of all the divorces in America and 40% of children growing up one America is being raised without a father.

I have had divorced parents since I was 1 year old. The whole divorced parents setup worked great until I turned 12. When you’re 12 and pre-teen you are on the road to becoming a teenager. Therefore things start to get a little bit harder in your everyday life. To make a big story short, it was too stressful for me to move back and forward every week and I needed one place to live and I still to this day live in one place with my mom and only visit my dad.

My personality did not match the life I was given, like MANY other kids. I’m a person that gets stressed very easily, therefore, I can’t move around every week.

I get it, I really do. No one wants to get divorced, no couple wants to have a kid and afterward get divorced. But even tho the child should see both parents some kids just aren’t designed for that and can’t handle it. If you are/were a parent to a divorced child, take a moment, and think about what you are putting a child through. Could you be able to move back and forward every week? Wouldn’t you be stressed if you had to live in two places? And would you really be able to feel a 100% home in both of those places? If you couldn’t be able to do that how do you expect your little boy to do that or your teenage daughter that is going through a huge amount of struggles alone?

In many cases, children adjust to the new situation and things even out for them. However, sometimes the effects of divorce are long-lasting. Children of divorce may be less educated, suffer from drug and alcohol addictions, exhibit behavioral or mental health problems, get pregnant as a teen, experience poverty in their lives, or get married young.

Adults whose parents divorced when they were children more often say they are unhappy, insecure, lonely, and experience persistent anxiety. The children that are victims of divorced parents are twice as likely to commit suicide. Adults that since childhood has had divorced parents are 14 times more likely to commit suicide. Of course, a lot of children have a fantastic and perfectly normal life with divorced parents but it can also really hurt a kid forever.

It can either make or break a person. Some people come out on the other side stronger while others are destroyed forever. If you are unhappy in your marriage you should ALWAYS get divorced but you have to know your child good enough before you put them in a settlement that isn’t good for their personality. Everybody is different and that's okay but think about what you are asking your child to go through every single week, could you really do that?

--

--