Why we are building ShapeRoute

Amal Jose
2 min readMar 31, 2022

Being fit is a difficult but important challenge that we all have. I was also overweight and recently started my journey to improve my fitness.

But I wasn't seeing any noticeable progress also I wanted to document my journey to look back after some time.

You can’t improve what you don’t measure.

I looked for tools that tracked the progress of how my body changed so that I can see the progress.

My requirements were:

  • Take daily photos and videos of my progress.
  • To track the number measurements like weight, waist, biceps, thighs.
  • Make transformation videos out of them.
  • Thought it would be great if the date can also be displayed in the background of the final video output.
  • Reasonable price, if it was a one-time purchase it would be great.
  • See other people’s journeys to see how long it took for them? 🤔

There were a few similar apps, some were really good, but these are the issues with them.

  • Most of them were not properly maintained.
  • Some work only when there is an internet connection, and uploading photos from a modern mobile camera will take a lot of time, seeing the loading indicators.
  • A lot of ads.
  • Very high price per month.
  • Photos were stored in their own cloud, I wanted to store them in my google drive for example.
  • Some were only available in only one platform.

So I started to build one, my two friends Raeez and Abhilash also joined me, a lot of others are helping us with ideas, design, and advice.

Was really excited to share the progress so far, so just wrote this.

Let’s see where this goes 😊

--

--