Not all follower counts are built the same

Amanda Golka
6 min readMar 17, 2022
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I think it goes without saying that though they all fall under the category of social media, the various major platforms are all different. I am not talking about the platforms themselves, but the algorithms and popular users who make them what they are.

I recently got accepted into the first round of voting for an influencer reality tv show. I am a full-time YouTuber, but even with that, I was fairly certain I didn't have a shot at getting accepted. I’ve applied to many reality shows over the last two years for potential videos, some being influencer-focused. Most never got made or I didn’t get past the application process. I’m not exactly the wild-child type that a lot of these shows want to cast, in reality tv terms, I am boring. So I was honestly not expecting to get accepted into the first round of voting. But low and behold, I was selected to be a part of the first round of voting for the over 250k category of the show.

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

The contest had three entry categories: 50k+, 100K+, and 250K+. I am currently at over 260k on youtube, so I went with 250K+. I honestly thought that if my application was accepted, I would be going up against creators with 1M+ audiences. I should point out…

--

--