I’m Trying to Be a More Reasonable Human

Amanda Allworth
4 min readApr 16, 2019

By looking at the world through your eyes.

Photo by Max-Jakob Beer on Unsplash

It’s 2019. Our brains have been evolving for centuries, yet my thoughts are evidence that the prehistoric brain that was crucial for survival in archaic times still affects my actions in modern society. The autonomic “fight or flight” quick-action response to stimuli that kept our ancestors alive is hard to overcome. But I’m trying to cast more thoughtful judgment on those automatic interpretations of my environment. Because I want to be a better human being.

Stimulus: The pro-life demonstrators

I recently encountered several pro-life demonstrators outside a medical clinic. They sat near a busy intersection in lawn chairs, smiling and waving signs that read “Babies are murdered here.” I usually don’t get too political or caught up with things like this. Generally, I respect and support the freedom we all have to express ourselves. But for some reason, on this day, I felt a rush of hot blood and a pang of anger. Maybe it was because my toddler was sleeping peacefully in the backseat. Or perhaps it was because these demonstrators were so nonchalant about the seriousness of their signs. I don’t know why my feelings immediately went to anger on this day. As I neared them, I stopped my car long enough to lock eyes and shake my head emphatically “no” in disgust at…

--

--

Amanda Allworth

Scientist. Agvocate. Knowledge Seeker. Lover of comfortable silences and honest stories.