Advocate and Educate

Organic Finds by Amanda Augustine
2 min readJun 30, 2020

--

I say it is scary times, but should I be allowed to be afraid? I cannot fathom the loss of a loved one because of the police. I cannot imagine the fear some now have to go for a run in light of day. I cannot comprehend how someone cannot even feel safe in their own home because someone one may shoot me through the window.

Does it matter where we started veering off course. I am starting to believe that we were never on a course to protect the public, but instead only focused on protecting the pale percentage of America. In schools we are taught about the Civil Rights Movement and laud the leaders of those days. Now I believe America has glazed over our past in order to slow the progress that was made. We need to learn our past through all perspectives.

What do I want to say? Educate and Advocate.

Learn about life through another’s eyes. Get your hands on books, blogs, podcasts, any type of material you can use to see the world through the eyes of another person.

Don’t just absorb, act. Too many times, have I read a memoir of a person that experienced / lived through an awful time within our nation and I say “Wow, I’m glad I’ve never had to go through that.” I took these stories for granted because I thought we were past these injustices.

Keep this a relevant topic. Previously, I felt that it is not my place to speak up on these matters, but now I see that silence is just as harmful to the change. But do not just talk about the injustices that are happening. Start conversations with your local community members and leaders to gain traction on reforming processes and structures that need to be made.

Go vote. In a speech on May 30, Killer Mike urges community members to “exercise your political bully power” by “beating up the politicians that you don’t like” through your choice of vote.

Fill out the census. More simple tasks that make a critical impact. The government needs to be tracking the bodies that reside in each area of the country in order to properly allocate resources.

Actively advocate. I’m an introvert and I tend to ignore people all the same because of my social anxiety, but I will be more aware of my surroundings.

People of color are being discriminated against. I am disappointed in myself that I have not taken more action to help. We need to remain vigilant to reform our government’s policies and process in order to accommodate our growing nation. America is a very young nation with very strong-willed people who have equal rights to live life well.

Courtesy of Thomas de LUZE

--

--

Organic Finds by Amanda Augustine

Putting my thoughts down to share with others. Organic Finds is a nod towards the natural flow of information through word of mouth. Feedback is welcomed.