Let’s sketch about UX Design

Amanda Basso
2 min readOct 22, 2017

--

Here is my very first story about my journey as a UX/UI Design student at Ironhack. I was assigned to practice sketching while watching a very useful TED Talk about UX Design. All what I needed were 2 pens and a piece of paper. The simpler, the better! In this post, I am gonna expose you my thoughts about this experience.

You can watch the video here to better understand my doodles:

As taking notes has always been natural during my student years, I automatically wrote down some keywords and ideas while listening to this presentation. It helped me to organize my thoughts and reflect about what to include in my sketch.

I obviously began with a title. The reader has to know what I was writing about. What followed was a combination between my notes and my direct sketches.

As you can see, it looks a bit messy, as I drew as my brain was assimilating and processing the information. However, it helped me to better remember each piece of information as I had to reflect on how I could represent each idea on paper. I had to make is visual and easily readable and understandable with the minimum of details so I could put all the informations from the speech on one single A4 sheet of paper.

As I reviewed my first sketch, I thought that each idea was represented on my paper. But it could be improved on the way it was placed on the space.

For the second version of my sketch, I tried to simplify it more, especially on the “Change” part. As you can see, it takes less space and conceptualize better the ideas linked to the word “change”.

--

--

Amanda Basso

Digital & UX project manager consultant. Based in Paris, lived in Barcelona & Seoul. UX & Design Thinking enthusiast & always eager for discoveries!