Quick guide to getting up and running with Git

Amanda D. Smith
1 min readSep 16, 2018

--

Updated 2020–04–25

1. Get yourself a free Github account. If you’re an academic, check out the Github Education resources.

2. Start with the Introduction to Github tutorial. This will teach you the basics of Git version control and how to interact with Github pages on the web. If you need to use Git outside of the Github platform, or just want more details, the Pro Git book is available for free from git-scm.com.

3. I like Github Desktop for managing my repos. If you want to learn the commands and skip the GUI like the big kids, grab a Git cheat sheet.

4. Go explore! See the Try Git resource page, check out cool work my grad students have done in my research group repository or cool work my colleagues have done in the multi-sector modeling project I’m working on, or search for a repository with a project that interests you in a language you’re familiar with.

--

--

Amanda D. Smith

Energy nerd, academic engineer, scientist, programmer. Murderer of houseplants, struggling student of Mandarin, frequently being used as cat furniture.