A Letter to the Bend Community

Amanda La Bell
4 min readSep 18, 2018

--

Dear Bend Community:

Today, several local newspapers shared parts of my past with the public. It’s important to me that I am fully transparent with you, my supporters, about my life experiences and how they have shaped who I am and what I stand for. I have experienced firsthand so many of the struggles that working families face, which is why I am committed to fighting for a Bend that works for all of us.

Like many, I always hoped to earn a college degree. While in high school, I took AP and dual credit classes to begin earning credit towards a Bachelor’s of Arts degree. I then received a music scholarship that helped me be able to attend Gulf Coast Community College for one year. I attended one more year at Gulf Coast and then transferred to Valdosta State University. I later enrolled in the University of Phoenix for a short time. Throughout my studies, I struggled to balance work, school, financial pressures, and caring for my family. Ultimately I couldn’t strike that balance, and for years, I felt a deep sense of guilt and shame at not being able to achieve the milestone of a college degree.

It is this sense of shame that led me, many years ago, to write on my LinkedIn profile that I had received a Bachelors of Arts from Valdosta State University. This was then picked up and repeated on my online work profile. This was again repeated in my Voter’s Pamphlet Statement. Neither my campaign nor I knowingly made false claims in the Voter’s Pamphlet Statement. I realize that claiming to have earned a Bachelor’s degree is unacceptable and wrong, and I express my profound apologies to all affected by this.

I am running to be Bend’s State Representative because I understand the daily struggles working families face. So many in our community struggle with insurmountable obstacles to finishing college, as I did. These obstacles compound upon each other when, without a college degree, it is difficult to earn a living wage and support a family. Additionally, though I never finished my college degree, I still face significant student debt. Our country, state, and local communities have work to do to ensure that working people like me have opportunities to earn a degree no matter their financial, professional, or familial situation.

There are other parts of my past I would also like to share. Particularly, I have faced other financial struggles and I have been arrested twice. Each arrest was the result of an abusive relationship, and each time the charges were dropped.

In 2006, while living in Tennessee, I was arrested for defending my three-year-old child from domestic abuse. My ex-husband and the father of my first child was physically, emotionally, and financially abusive to my daughter and I. During one altercation, I defended myself and my daughter from a physical attack by him. The police were called, and due to state law about domestic violence situations, I was required to spend twelve hours in jail. In 2009, while living in Florida, an ex-boyfriend stole a check from me and used it to buy a vehicle. Because it was my name on the check, I spent several months awaiting a court hearing which resulted in the immediate dismissal of the case after the car dealership who brought the complaint told them I was not involved. In order to flee this relationship, I left the apartment my ex and I shared, which resulted in an eviction.

Like many women and mothers in domestic violence situations, financial difficulties kept me in an unsafe situation for far too long. It is unacceptable that in our country, so many are kept in abusive situations by economic and material conditions. Nobody should have to make a choice between being houseless or staying in a situation that could cost them or their child their life. Unfortunately, our economy forces that choice on women far too often — this must change.

Since the end of these relationships, I have worked hard, and been lucky, to fully move on with my life. However, these experiences will always be a part of who I am, and they are a large part of what led me to the values I embrace today: everyone should have access to affordable housing, college should be free, and our economy should be set up in a way that supports working mothers like me who are fighting to build a better world for our kids.

The race for State Representative in House District 54 has caused significant trauma for the Bend community, and it has always been my goal to alleviate, not add to, the difficulties our community has gone through together. The challenges I have faced in my life have made me who I am, but I know that they are not unique. I’m running for the State Legislature to represent everyone in our community, especially those who, like me, haven’t always had it easy. Above all, Bend deserves a State Representative committed to honesty and transparency, and I know that this commitment is true for me.

Sincerely,

Amanda La Bell

--

--

Amanda La Bell
0 Followers

Candidate for State Representative in Oregon House District 54