Learnings from the year 2022 in Data Analytics

Aman Singh
3 min readJan 2, 2023

--

About my journey and practical learnings in the field of Data Analytics.

Being an Undergraduate 4th-year student, I started my journey in the field of Data Analytics in the year 2022.

Learning all started from LinkedIn and some of the YouTube tutorials which I watched for getting myself introduced to this field and introduce myself to the tools used in this field.

Some of the YouTube channels which I would recommend are:

Guy In a Cube: https://www.youtube.com/@GuyInACube

Enterprise DNA: https://www.youtube.com/@EnterpriseDNA

Here is the list of learnings I got from this field of Data Analytics:

💡 Understanding data is the key thing when we analyze any dataset from different perspectives and ask relevant questions.

💡Prioritizing analysis over design: On elaborating, it is always preferred to use less fancy design and focus more on insights.

💡Keeping in mind UI/UX principles whenever we design any dashboard/report.
Using colors as signals and not creating noise through it and using minimal colors in the report.

💡 Storytelling skills are an important aspect of any dashboard or report.
It helps the stakeholders to get a better knowledge of the insights we share through the report.

Here is a list of the dashboards where I focused on telling a story with the report are:

Environment Data Analysis

Supply Quality Analysis

Hospitality Data Analysis

💡 Eliminating clutter in visualization:

Once we understand what chart needs to be made for the visualization, clutter needs to be also taken care of:

It is of various types:

Putting too many visuals on a report page: It hinders the entire report where insights are shared well but not organizing the report nicely affects the viewer going through the report.

Example: I made one of the dashboards regarding Hotel Revenue Analysis where insights shared were authentic but too many visuals on a page made it look cluttered.

Not having clear axes labels or titles: Sometimes due to lack of space or some other reasons we don’t focus on axes labels or titles we should take care of while building any dashboard or report.

Example: One of the dashboards I built in the healthcare domain regarding Health Substance Abuse where I did this mistake, but thereafter I took learning from it.

  • Alignment issues:

Alignment also is a significant aspect when we want to make our dashboard or report look better.

For example, I made one of the reports on Nobel Prize Winners, which I made previously where I was not known of it, and you can clearly see the flaws which I marked:

  • Managing whitespaces: It is the gaps within the visuals and we should address them effectively to make our report sound symmetric and easy to view.

Thank you for reading the post. If you find it interesting and helpful, please let me know in the comments 🙂.

You can reach out to me via LinkedIn.

--

--

Aman Singh

Data Analyst | Business Intelligence | Storyteller. I love to write content related to BI tools and the data analysis on different kind of datasets.