Confession: Should you?

Mari
2 min readJul 21, 2022

--

source: picturequotes.com

I once received the question…

I really like someone but I’m afraid to ruin things by confessing. Should I confess to them?

… And thought hmm, what’s the best way to answer it? Here’s what I came up with:

This question is difficult to answer. Asking if you SHOULD confess brings up multiple different opinions and there aren’t any solid sources that provide a good answer for what you “should” do. And so, what I write is based on what I feel and my experiences:

So, should you confess your feelings to a friend? I’ve mixed feelings about this. On one hand, there’s always the chance that your friend doesn’t feel the same way as you. The confession could end in awkwardness and a decreased amount of conversation.

On the other hand, they could feel the same way as you. Then, you’re happy you took the chance and the relationship proceeds to evolve. It’s truly a win-lose situation. If you do decide to confess, I think the best thing to do is to let them know that you don’t want to lose them, no matter the outcome. If they say they don’t like you, accept it and move on. Don’t try and pressure them into anything.

But like I said, this is purely opinion and not supported by any sources.

Now, on the chance you do decide to confess, here are some tips to help you:

1. Don’t make it a big deal.

2. Don’t drag it out.

3. Make it clear and concise, don’t obsess.

4. Give them time to sort out their thoughts.

Check out more tips here.

In the case that they do reject you, here are some tips to make things less awkward.

1. Ask them how they feel.

Let them say how they feel about the confession and let them elaborate.

2. Do something fun.

Get together and go out somewhere fun. Or if you’re online, stream a movie or play some virtual games together.

3. Let time do its thing.

Things may not immediately go back to normal. It’ll take time to get over any awkwardness. You should also use the time to move on from your crush.

Check out more tips here.

Was this advice helpful? Let me know in the comments!

--

--

Mari

Interested in sharing dating advice ;) and some poetry… maybe even a little controversy?