Raker, emulator, animator

Alexander Matyukh
8 min readApr 22, 2016

Recently, I started looking for a good tool for prototyping and animation of my ideas. As a result, market research has become a revision of specialization of my tools and grinding process of designing a new product.

***

To understand what kind of tools I need, I generally fixed my current workflow. Designing a new product goes through the following phases:

  • Modeling
    creation of static model of product: spinning in my head, developed on paper, imprinted on layouts;
  • Simple prototyping
    simple paged prototype, tests and correction;
  • Complex prototyping
    complex multilayered prototype, tests and correction;
  • Packaging
    preparation and packaging of project documentation, delivery of the development.

In the context of this process, my tools acquired the following classification:

  • Architect
    Creating a functional aspect (information architecture, structure, scenarios and so on).
  • Visualizer
    Creating imaginative aspects (identity, illustrations, semantics, etc.).
  • Tester
    Checking for users and collecting feedback.
  • Raker
    Creating a simple, usually paged prototype, which combs the foundation of the product, to eliminate false and erroneous moves at the beginning.
  • Emulator
    Creating a complex prototype, as closely as possible to the native environment.
  • Animator
    In the production process this type of tool rarely use, so that the client did not take offense to the unrealized shown early beauty and the developer does not fall into a swoon from future suffering. But to create the concepts and interactive experiments — the most it.
  • Documenter
    Management and execution of project documentation, create a package for developers.

Everyone can for the sake of his own process to create a kind of tool that solves a specific problem. For example, someone could use separate tools to create moodboard. But I use them very rarely, so not included in the main list of tools.

So based on the above classification, I needed a raker, an emulator and animator. It does not matter, it will be one application from one company or three different, just to the tasks carried out easily, conveniently and efficiently.

Having defined the categories of the required tools, I fixed point criteria and requirements:

  • rapid, obvious, intuitive acquaintance with the product: there is neither the time nor the inclination to the long leaning;
  • easy and without waning import and synchronization of layouts of Ps or Sketch;
  • a prototype can be created for any platform;
  • animator must create complex animation as simple operations can be;
  • so as not fantasy fence on a complex prototyping, emulator should produce as much as possible the native behavior that was as little as possible deviations between actual product and prototype complex;
  • gif or video output;
  • clickable prototype I can share with colleagues and users, insert into the presentation, try on different devices;
  • reasonable price tag.

Selection of potential tools to the begin of test comprised the following:

Clarify once again that there is no unnecessary discussion: in the selection were tools that could potentially solve the range of the required tasks (simple and complex prototyping, animation), and have not got the tools that tend to architects and other specializations (Axure, UXPin, Balsamiq, WebFlow, Justinmind, Indigo Studio and others).

And once again I remind that acquaintance with the tools highly dependent on the personal vision and understanding of the work process and other professional preferences, so in front of your own verdict necessarily try the product!

Now I had to take a test-drive each of the tools and put a generalized impression, holding a check-list of the features of my workflow and personal wishes. So there you go!

*** Market Pulse on April 22, 2016 ***

Adobe After Effects. Tool is definitely strong, but not created for the animation interface, so making in it banal things in roundabout ways for myself, I decided to put aside. In the future, I want to explore in more detail for other needs, and while I will pass over to the other times.

Adobe Expirience Design. It looks very nice, good for a quick prototype, which you can share a link or video, try on the device. It is a pity that I can not see the feedback from the prototype. But this is only the preview version, so that everything is possible in the future. Tab Design for me superfluous: yet have no idea how I will use it, but it is possible a matter of habit. Fortunately, the time to playing with the app and understand whether it is necessary shaft (toll program plans to be at the end of the year). Sad that now it is only on the Mac.

Pixate. Prototypes, maded in this tool, look very dignified, but I did not immediately work out with understanding. It was great to use simple prototype on my device by connecting wirelessly, but Pixate is still an emulator, so the output needs more complex. Due to the fact that free, in my spare time I try to learn this app, maybe we can be friends.

Principle. Presentation video — in an exemplary demonstration: quickly and without water shows the potential of the product, so it tried to be among the first. The process rolled once, almost everything is very clear to me. Digging a little tutorial, I tried even greater power tool. For some reason I was expecting from him the role of an emulator, but still it is the animator: a full flow of the prototype application I still have no idea how to do it without hassle, but for dreaming about some particular aspect — great for this purpose. It would be great if in the future Principle will be improved for this way of animator, becoming a high-grade, lightweight and honed variation of After Effects.

Flinto for Mac. In the queue for the trying was near the end. The more pleasant surprise it was to work with him: an acquaintance happened to “cheers”, functional flew very quickly, after a short run of official tutorials and trying in their my hands Flinto has left an even greater impression. Big pluses for designer of transformation and the ability to add more gestures on a single object: in my current project it needed desperately. Flinto I seemed as animator, but it turned out exactly the opposite: create a complex prototype with non-standard animations in Flinto I got easier and faster than all other products. At leisure, I try out other tools of this company — Flinto Lite.

Marvel. Probably the most surprised, as I was going to sell it just for fun and not expecting anything special. The first acquaintance passed completely unnoticed: after a few minutes my simple prototype I was flipping through the mobile, could discuss with colleagues or through Lookback tested on users, send SMS or email link, insert clickable prototype directly into Behance-presentation. Along with clean and tidy shell left a very good impression, making a significant bid for a complete tool for the second stage of my process (simple prototype). The decisive factor in this were just share&feedback-opportunities. It is possible to create simple canvas, but for me this extra functionality, as well as in Adobe XD.

InVision. A powerful tool with great prospects. Increase its weight with the purchase of Silver Flows, which I really, really wanted to try. And it is not clear when I can do it: some goodies, as announced in September and August of last year Inspect and Motion, is still in private beta and when it will be released — I did not understand. Of the minuses I note a overloaded interface, after Marvel looks overweight and primeval, but it’s my personal impressions. Therefore, InVision for me remains a dark horse, behind which I will definitely follow: it has all the prerequisites to become a good comprehensive tool in my arsenal.

Proto.io. Prototypes made in it are impressive, but after a couple of attempts, our acquaintance did not happen. Most likely, I prevented the tool loading architect functions, which I did not need, and learn how to make a complex prototype with a 15-day trial period I simply did not have time, as well as to understand what I’m going to pay $ 24 per month for 5 projects, it is the most expensive proposal in my tools selection. It is a pity, because he claimed to be a simulator and animator.

Atomic.io. Prototypes again impressive, but it is rather an animator. The process of learning is not very complicated for me, but the trial period of a month, so I still have the opportunity to explore it in more detail, also have official sources. Program logic reminds Pixate.

Framer Studio. Announced features and prototypes leave a very good impression. The possibilities really are so many, but it requires a more detailed study. Create complex prototype will take more time, but the output prototype will be really close to combat conditions. Released April 12 a new version leaves more hope for a faster process of work.

Origami Studio. I would want to play with the visual programming: logic and workflow look very friendly for me. It only remains to wait for the new version, which was announced in early April. There is an alternative Form, but the recommendations have greater weight to Origami, so I think to start with it.

***

After a stroll through the market, made for myselves the current results:

  • Marvel practically closes the tasks of my second stage (simple prototyping), so I pre-take him into my arsenal as a raker and one of the testers, the more so because at the stage of detailed acquaintance is not required to pay. Beside will be looming alternative in the face of InVision and Flinto Lite;
  • I try Flinto for Mac as the emulator for the first time, but in my developmental program i put a priority course of studying complex prototyping (Framer and Origami). Maybe in the future I will try a bunch of Flinto, if i need to be in a hurry make a complex prototype, and Framer (Origami), when i need more realistic emulation.
  • Principle I take on probation as animator, enormous power of After Effect now I do not need.
  • Other tools, especially of InVision, will keep on the pulse to adjust my arsenal, if necessary.

The nuances, which I found in the course of searches:

  • The trial model prevented further acquaintance. Another thing, if the calculated actual use of days as Principle. But in the short-term learning, when not turned to the first and second times catch hold of the product, I want to rotate the tool with the other hand and give him another chance. But in the end due to various reasons, including simple working schedule, I was not able to meet the two-week period, and our acquaintance was not held. Therefore, the model of perpetual and not much snickering use free of charge leaves a good impression about the product and the possibility of using it in further acquaintance on a fee basis with large capacities. In general, free-to-pay is more attractive form of monetization on this market.
  • Tool with strongly sharpened niche functionality often leaves a more pleasant experience than the “harvester”, that solve these problems along with others: sharpened tool can not only do a better job than the “harvester”, but simply in my head is on the shelf, in which i decide my problems, not to occupy several shelves in a row, getting tangled with other tools. If you need a documenter — you can get Zeplin, if a tester — can get Lookback, and so on.

Battle on the market in full swing, so I will keep this topic on the pulse: in the case of updating the header will change the date (upd@day.month), in the comment i will indicate that it has been updated.

In the course of this research I was born the concept of my experimental tool that I quickly shared in this article.

With pleasure seeking with your own set of tools or classification. You can also have some fun and come up with alternative names of species in my classification (raker — comb; tester — distribution agent, huckster; emulator — pandora, copper pipes).

--

--