Unexpected Opportunities

Amaya Goodloe
3 min readJul 22, 2020

My experience this summer included an unexpected internship opportunity with a black owned tech company called Cloud Cyber Networks Operations Artificial Intelligence (CCNOAI). Currently, I study marketing and psychology at Maryville College where it’s required that I complete an internship before graduation. Initially I was set to intern with The Department of Energy (DOE) in Aiken, South Carolina at the Savannah Rivers Site.

Unfortunately the coronavirus pandemic led to all internships being cancelled. At first, I was disappointed because I was looking forward to this opportunity. This internship would allow me to gain professional experience and the opportunity seemed lost. Luckily, a few weeks later, a virtual internship with a tech company was presented to me unexpectedly.

I remember how anxious I felt on the first day of the internship. Interning at the startup tech company CCNOAI (I also assisted in their future name change, because this one is a mouth full), has been a valuable experience especially being my first job/internship of any capacity. I was nervous about what my internship experience could look like given the effects of the coronavirus, but I quickly bonded with the rest of the team. Nerves, anxiety, and excitement kicked in upon learning that I was given the lead for the company’s marketing campaign DAY 1! I had to create, communicate, and deliver the value from a tech company to our clients. It was a challenge, but my passion is in the creative process. I also enjoy expressing myself, ultimately helping others express their own unique ideas through design. My biggest project involved me creating a script and story line using an online video animation software, to create marketing explainer videos. I also assisted in the development of the company’s website, as well as product testing.

Most importantly, I was encouraged to reach out to other professionals via LinkedIn. I connected and talked to many amazing professionals, getting their advice on how I could grow professionally and personally. Among these professionals, were successful black women who shared their experiences with me (AND THEIR CONNECTIONS)!

Growing up in Knoxville, TN, I was part of the ethnic minority, as there is little diversity in the community. I’ve had to overcome the challenges and oftentimes discomfort of being the only African-American woman in the majority of the environments I have been exposed to. This is one of the reasons I was thrilled to work with a minority owned company.

Through this internship I’ve been able to gain great experiences that are relevant to my major and helped me to develop professionally. I’ve gained amazing mentors that have guided me and pushed me to continuously improve myself. Working virtually has given me the opportunity to become more familiar with digital technologies I otherwise wouldn’t have been exposed to, network virtually, and connect with professionals whom I aspire to be like one day.

Over two months, I came into an unexpected opportunity where I immediately hit the ground running being tasked with some big responsibilities. This unexpected internship has expanded my opportunities and exposed me to endless possibilities of what lies ahead for me on my journey to success and for that I am tremendously thankful. My goal is to obtain a position as a market research analyst ultimately leading to a successful career as a Chief Marketing Officer. “The expected is what keeps us steady. It’s the unexpected that changes our lives forever.” ~Shonda Rhimes

--

--