Fred Ouda Wins Repeat Primaries for Kisumu Central

Kisumu Central MP Ken Obura has lost the ODM ticket for the constituency to Gem MCA Fred Ouda.

In the fresh polls held Tuesday, Mr Ouda garnered 6,694 votes followed by former TNA Secretary-General who defected to ODM in January, Onyango Oloo who got 4,991.

Mr Obura came a distant third with 1,040 while Richard Ogendo got 879 and ex-Kisumu Mayor Sam Okello managed 571 votes.

Returning officer Samson Odoyo McOremo said the results were from 36 polling stations out of 45.

“Mr Fred Odhiambo Ouda is the ODM nominee for Kisumu Central Constituency,” Mr McOremo said.

He said results from 9 polling stations were not included in the final tally because the “Presiding officers abandoned the ballot boxes at the tallying centre and disappeared.”

Earlier there was tension at Goan Institute, the Kisumu Central Constituency tallying centre over claims that some ballot boxes were missing.

Police were forced to fire in the air and use teargas canisters to disperse a crowd that had gathered outside the centre.

During the the voting process, claims of vote rigging marred repeat ODM primaries for Kisumu Central MP seat on Tuesday as confusion and anxiety reigned during the exercise.

Kisumu Central MP Ken Obura, Gem Central MCA Fred Ouda and former TNA Secretary General Onyango Oloo who defected to ODM in January were the front runners in the race.

Other candidates included: former Kisumu Town West MP Ken Nyagudi, ex-Kisumu Mayor Sam Okello, Richard Ogendo, Hesbon Odiero and Elphas Oyugi.