A Poem

Amber Benge
1 min readFeb 18, 2020

--

My Days

Some days I’m dark

Some days I’m Blue

Some days I’m so sad I want to hide from you

It creeps up like fog, hanging in the air

It comes they day after the suns bright flare

I’m smiling and laughing, optimistic as hell

And just like a wave the darkness crashes and leaves me bare

It brings forth the toxicity I try endlessly to detox

It cripples my actions, leaving me in a mental prison box

I’m lost, I’m drowning, being consumed by my thoughts

Missing out on truly living, doing the things that I want

I’m green from the sickness I inflict on myself

So isolation holds me like a book on the shelf.

Hoping to keep the darkness contained from the loves of my life that view me as sane

If they believed I’m bright and fully alive

Then maybe I can use that light to free me from my hell, so that I may thrive.

--

--