I went from someone who literally hated programming to someone who now loves to code and spend hours writing code

Ameer
2 min readFeb 15, 2016

--

I have always hated programming and I have no clue why. I would just ignore anything or anyone who talks about the code and programming etc.

It was all until 2 years ago when a friend of mine sparked my interest into programming. So I decided to give it a shot.

Toughest part for almost every beginner

Just like everyone else I googled tons of time to find the best and easiest programming language for me. I found Python to be the “easiest” one.

I started learning python and it didn’t make any sense to me and I was thinking “wow the easiest language didn’t make sense to me, how on earth am I going to become a developer?” At first, it was hard but I refused to give up just yet.

I spent days, weeks and months trying to figure out this whole programming thing. I didn’t know where to start and I was going nowhere, I had no path what so ever.

Start of something incredible

After months of hustling, I decided to get into the Web development since I don’t have a CS degree and I know there are a lot of self-taught developers out there.

I started learning HTML & CSS and it all made sense to me for once.

Phew! I have never felt more relieved in my life than after knowing what the HTML & CSS are exactly and guess what? I’m not done yet.

I’m on the verge of mastering the skills, even though one can never master anything when it comes to programming but I want to have enough practice.

Once done with the basics I’ll move on to Javascript, jQuery, Node.js etc.

I spend several hours writing code and playing around with the HTML & CSS. It fascinates me how we can command the computer to do task via coding.

I was wrong for having so much hatred towards programming. Learning programming has to be the best decision I’ve ever made in my life.

All I have learned from my experience is that never EVER GIVE UP no matter how hard the things get.

If you’re just a beginner and trying to figure out or just started learning to program, you’re going to make countless mistakes in the journey and it’s OKAY.

Don’t let anyone ever make you feel down. learn from your mistakes, that’s how you’re going to become a pro.

Also, I want to thank the internet for providing such awesome resources. https://ilovecoding.org/
http://www.w3schools.com/
http://generalassemb.ly/

Thanks for reading everyone
Cheers

--

--

Ameer

Spirituality — Law Of Attraction — Well Being, Growth Hacker, Business, Social Media, MBA, Writer