How to Market Pumpkin Spice Latte

Amelia Christensen
3 min readJul 23, 2023

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

When you hear “pumpkin spice latte,” how do you feel? Relaxed and cozy? Personally, I find the PSL sweet, harmless, and even a little romantic. One day, I want to hire a personal chef so that I can have pumpkin spice foods and drinks all year round. But make no mistake. The pumpkin spice industry is not a charity, but a lucrative business with a net worth of over $511 million! So, how did they build an empire out of this holiday dessert?

Here are 3 key ingredients for successful PSL marketing:

  1. Creating a sense of urgency

Starbucks, the pioneer of the PSL, only sells this fall beverage for a limited time. What’s interesting is that they don’t usually specify the end-of-sale date. Last year, they announced the PSL’s return the day before its release and casually mentioned that it would be available “while supplies last.” Hysterical me would not appreciate them sort of playing with my feelings. Fear of missing out (FOMO) is real! I might have to stop by several stores until I finally get my share!! Whenever I see the green mermaid around the corner, I might have to get the PSL until I finally get tired of it. It’s not just another drink option for me, it’s an obsession.

2. Enticing all five senses (sight, smell, touch, hearing, and taste)

The warm orange color of pumpkins gives me comfort because autumn is my favorite season of all time. I don’t have to suffer from hay fever, mosquito bites, or dry air for months. Sweet potatoes and chestnuts are delicious. Hiking while listening to birds is awesome. I think many people find autumn colors serene and calming, too.

As for the smell, I don’t really know the pumpkin smell. Is it earthy? Anyway, with a hint of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves, it smells festive! I learned the subtleness of spices is important when I had a terrible pumpkin pie with an excessive amount of cinnamon from a supermarket. Since then, I stay away from cinnamon tea and cinnamon rolls. Just remembering that makes my nose itchy.

Unlike cocoa or black coffee, whipped cream creates the perfect temperature to keep my hands warm on a chilly day. I take a deep breath and slowly have a sip. Caffeine doesn’t bother me. Rather, the PSL helps me de-stress and often fall asleep.

Though a coffee shop in the morning is crowded and loud like an alarm clock, it’s a nice place to take your mind off in the afternoon. The sound of brewing coffee, steaming milk, and jazz background music create the library ambience for grown-ups. It’s no coincidence that many bookstores are near cafés. The atmosphere encourages customers to sit down and read a good book with some midday treats. It reminds me of You’ve Got Mail, but that’s a story for another time.

And finally, the taste. What more can I say? Pumpkin spice latte is dreamy.

3. Making it a tradition

The PSL has become more than just a seasonal drink; it’s a part of our culture. People go on social media and post their PSL with the #PSL hashtag. It signals fall is coming! It doesn’t matter whether the PSL actually contains real pumpkins or not. It doesn’t matter whether the PSL is healthy or not. Although some people are petitioning for making it a regular drink menu, it is safe to say for now that the PSL has become an autumn tradition that brings people together.

I have no affiliation with Starbucks, but if you’re interested, I recommend watching a video of LeAnn Rimes taste-testing Starbucks’ seasonal foods and drinks!

--

--