World Wildlife Day in 4 days

Costa Rica is closing zoos.

Amelia Christensen
3 min readFeb 29, 2024
Image by Domenic Hoffmann from Pixabay

Speaking of coffee, what is your favorite? ☕
It’s interesting to note that around one-third of the world’s coffee comes from Brazil. Other countries famous for coffee production include Vietnam, Colombia, and Ethiopia. I like my coffee to be mild, with no bitterness or sourness. And I found my perfect coffee when I visited Costa Rica years ago. While strong coffee can instantly wake you up, it may leave your tongue tingling or hurt your stomach. Costa Rican coffee, on the other hand, feels like a warm hug and relaxes your mind. Needless to say, I became a big fan of Costa Rica after a sip.

🌿🌿🌿
Growing up in an urban environment, my connection to nature was limited to going to the park or watching documentaries. Therefore, I had the impression that nature was supposed to be aesthetic and photogenic. However, when I visited Costa Rica during the summer, I was a bit shocked to learn that nature can be…pretty wild!

The tropical climate was too humid and hot for me. I was constantly sweating, my hair got curly and frizzy, and I had to endure my unflattering look for the entire trip. In contrast, the locals seemed to be adapted to the environment. They didn’t rely on air conditioners, instead they just opened the window for air circulation. They were so breezy. I must have looked dramatic and pathetic.

When I went zip-lining in the forest, I was terrified because I was only used to amusement park rides where the safety was guaranteed. I was basically flying between tall trees! Furthermore, I didn’t realize until then that I had a fear of heights. Well, it was too late to back out. I’m pretty sure that monkeys were laughing at me while showing off their acrobatic talents of crossing trees above my head. It was not a recreational experience for me.🐒

Snorkeling was different from what I had seen in documentaries, too. The ocean was not crystal blue, but rather lukewarm navy blue water. It was not like a spa experience. When I returned to the hotel, a giant lizard (or a tiny crocodile, I’m not sure) was taking a nap by the pool as if nothing unusual. In sum, the real nature intimidated me.🐠

And there is a good reason for that. Costa Rica is, in fact, one of the leading countries in terms of sustainability. The country has made great efforts to protect its natural resources, enabling it to become home to many rare species, such as quetzals (the colorful bird featured in the image) and sloths. In addition, their wildlife protection goes to another level.🦜

In 2013, the Costa Rican government announced that they would close zoos and release some of the animals. While I couldn’t find any updates on whether this actually happened, it is clear that wild animals should belong in their natural habitats, not captivity for entertainment purposes. Also, if we can maintain their natural habitats in the first place, we wouldn’t have to keep the animals under human care for conservation purposes either. This news gave me an opportunity to rethink the role of zoos.

Overall, my trip to Costa Rica was an eye-opening experience that taught me to appreciate the raw and untamed beauty of nature.

--

--