Amelia Phillips
1 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

I am aware that my social life relies on digital technology, however I think it is a positive thing. Although the micro-moments google video is slightly cringeworthy, to an extent it is true. Almost every night out I go on I have purchased my ticket online beforehand, when I eat at restaurants I have booked the table online in advance, and almost every holiday I’ve been on since acquiring a smartphone I have booked through apps. When it comes to more spontaneous social events digital technology still plays a role, as the ability to access friends instantly means plans are made immediately and more people get involved.

I understand the fears of placing so much personal information in the digital world and the impact this can have on privacy, and the negative effects social media can have on mental and physical health. However for me the benefits of digital technology greatly outweigh the negatives.

--

--

Amelia Phillips

Politics and International Relations Student at the University of Manchester