Maren 101

Maren Miller
3 min readAug 19, 2019

--

ABOUT ME

My name is Maren Miller. I’m a Junior, majoring in Secondary Education with concentrations on English and Journalism. I love writing, reading, music, photography, and Harry Potter. I’m married to the coolest guy in the world, named Alexander! We got married in 2017, but have been together for somewhere around 5 years.

For work, I run a photography business and I teach piano lessons. I enjoy being able to be my own boss and make my own schedule. This enables me to juggle my two biggest priorities: school and my family.

I was born and raised in Colorado and my heart still resides there. I consider my second home to be New England, where I lived from 2015–2017 while serving a church mission. I also have roots in Idaho and am enjoying my time here at Idaho State University.

3 AREAS OF EXPERTISE

  1. Harry Potter. When I was four years old, my little sister was born. At the time I struggled with the transition from being the center of my parents’ attention to being the second priority. My mother combated this struggle by reading Harry Potter aloud to me every night as she was breastfeeding my sister. This gesture was just enough to assure my young mind that I was still loved, valued, and noticed by my mom. Since then, the Harry Potter Series has played a huge role in my life. Together, my mom and I read all 7 books and went to many midnight premiers of the movies. In the years since, I have devoted a lot of time to re-reading the series and collecting as much knowledge as I could about the fantastical world. At age 15 I created a Harry Potter fan page through Facebook devoted to Harry Potter trivia, discussions, games, and activities. The page became very popular, reaching somewhere around 21K likes/followers.

2. Music Composition. I often joke that I have been playing the piano since birth. Per my home videos, that statement is only about 1 year off. I absolutely love playing the piano and writing my own music. Throughout my childhood, I spent a lot of time experimenting with composition and arranging music. In high school I began exploring the world of choral arrangements. In my junior year, the top choir at Century High School debuted one of my pieces, written in 8 part harmony. I like to think I am fluent in the language of music. In particular, I specialize in reading chords and I also enjoy writing mash-ups and parodies.

3. Driving in Boston. During my time in the great city of Boston, I took on the challenge of having to drive two different very large vans, which forced me to not only learn but master the art of driving in one of the most difficult cities in the world. Boston is famous for its winding roads, never-ending traffic, and aggressive drivers. I am well versed in the specific road terminology used by Boston natives, such as the “Boston Blast,” “Boston Creep,” and “Boston Shadow” and how to apply the technique, as well as other uniquely handy skills only used in Boston.

--

--