Renowned MMA Fighter Embraces Islam

American Muslim Today
3 min readOct 4, 2023

--

“Everything lead me down a path to bring me closer to Allah and find my deen”, Leibrock

Renowned American MMA Fighter Amber Leibrock took the media by storm by announcing her conversion to Islam via her Instagram account.

A video circulating on the internet shows Leibrock accepting Islam (Shahadabh) at the Muslim Community Center — East Bay.

In a detailed post, the athlete who competed in the Featherweight division of the Professional Fighters League reflected on what led to her unexpected spiritual journey.

“The last couple of months have been life-changing. I’ve had some ups and some downs. I’ve worked the hardest I’ve ever worked and still came up short. Disconnected from ppl I loved so much and had my life turned upside down. Then in a blink of an eye, it all started to make sense.”

While sharing about the challenges she had to endure in recent times, the 35-year-old MMA star said a moment of clarity suddenly brought everything into focus. “Everything lead me down a path to bring me closer to Allah and find my deen. To make room for blessings I had no idea were coming, whether it came in the form of situations, people or things I never expected.”

Leibrock said how everything that has happened in her life up to this point has been exactly what was supposed to happen and it has been worth it.

“It’s not my timing, it’s Allah’s timing and I fully trust in it. Good, bad, whatever. It’s been an amazing year and it’s not over yet and I’m looking forward to everything it has in store for me!”

According to ESPN statistics, Leibrock currently boasts a record of 7–6–0 in her professional career. She was most recently involved in a battle with Russia’s six-time world champion and two-time European champion in Sambo Marina Mokhnatkina.

Her public acknowledgment of her religious stance has sparked conversations of faith among her fans, as well as the MMA community. One of her followers, Nora congratulated her, stating “It makes me happy to have such strong Muslim role models, especially within the MMA community.”

Another Ubaid Shalmani while welcoming her to the Muslim community, stated how he would be so happy to see her setting up self-defense classes and campaigns for Muslim women.

--

--

American Muslim Today

American Muslim Today (AMT) is a dynamic and inclusive forum which highlights the diversity and immense contribution of Muslims in the West.